On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/26/14

Radar

In this feature I’ll highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Deadpool #26
Deadpool #26

Creative Team

Gerry Duggan and Scott Koblish
Solicitation
“Another Deadpool FLASHBACK issue! This time . . . back to the 1950s?! That’s right-Deadpool has gone back in time to save Nick Fury . . . from the menace of TIME-TRAVELING HITLER!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Time-traveling Hitler. Need I say more?
________________________________________________________

Hawkeye #18

Creative Team
Matt Fraction and Annie Wu
Solicitation

“MEANWHILE IN LOS ANGELES: Who is Kate’s mystery friend in the cat food aisle and why is he so darn helpful all the time?  How close is Madame Masque to extracting her revenge? WHAT IF there was a connection between the Cat Food Man AND Madame Masque AND Kate? How many index cards will America’s Favorite New Young Girl Hero-slash-Private-Eye need to crack THIS case? Like seven? Eight.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
I’m a sucker for a good mystery so I’m immediately intrigued and I’m a sucker for the character of Kate Bishop as well. Taking these two elements, adding a dash of Madame Masque, mix with Fraction and Wu and you get a recipe for success.
 ________________________________________________________

Red Lanterns #29
Red Lanterns #29
Creative Team
Charles Soule and Alessandro Vitti
Solicitation
“The Reds have found their newest recruit: Supergirl! Guy Gardner is hardly equipped to handle a teenaged Kryptonian Red Lantern, so he heads for Earth and hand her off to her cousin, Superman! But Superman is…unimpressed by Guy’s leadership skills–or lack thereof…”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The new dynamic of Supergirl being a Red Lantern definitely has me interested. How Superman will react to finding out his cousin is a Red Lantern though should be priceless. I’m anticipating some really great moments here as the next chapter of Red Daughter of Krypton arrives.
________________________________________________________

Sandman Overture #2
Sandman Overture #2 (of 6) (Cover A)
Creative Team
Neil Gaiman and J. H. Williams
Solicitation
“The Sandman’s epic origin story continues in the second issue of the new miniseries by the superstar team of writer Neil Gaiman and artist J.H. Williams III! In which Daniel enters Mad Hettie’s dream and Morpheus discovers why he has been summoned and what he has been summoned to do.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
It has been a long five months indeed. I’m not too familiar with the Sandman concept as a whole but I really dug the opening issue of this mini-series. It is unfortunate that it took so long to come out with the follow-up but all that means is I have to re-read the first issue again. Hopefully we don’t have to wait so long for the third…
________________________________________________________

Superior Spider-Man #30
Superior Spider-Man #30
Creative Team
Dan Slott and Giuseppe Camuncoli
Solicitation
“‘Goblin Nation’ – Part 4 of 5. Since the start of DYING WISH, it has ALL been building to this. One of the most important moments of the ENTIRE Superior Spider-Man Saga! Once this happens, it CANNOT be undone! DO NOT MISS THIS ISSUE!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
We have been told that we can not miss this issue. We have been told that this is one of the most important moments of the entire saga. Everything has been building up to this! Can they possibly deliver on all their claims? My Spidey-Sense is tingling in excitement to find out.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Alex + Ada #5
All-New X-Factor #5
Amazing X-Men #5
Aquaman #29
Avengers #27
Dead Boy Detectives #4
The Flash #29
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #6
Furious #3
Ghostbusters #14
Guardians of the Galaxy #13
Larfleeze #9
New Avengers #16
Serenity: Leaves on the Wind #3
Superman #29
Uncanny Avengers #18
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 03/26/14 goes to….
Superior Spider-Man #30
Superior Spider-Man #30
 What will happen next?
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (8 Issues), Marvel (9 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 03/26/14

  1. All-New X-Factor, Marvel Knights X-Men (which has been a phenomenal mini – I’d definitely recommend picking up the trade when it comes out), and I’m leaning towards picking up Silver Surfer. Slott’s a fun writer, and Allred’s art is always a delight.

    I’m also picking up All-New Ghost Rider. Not because I care about the character, but I want to put my money where my mouth is in terms of supporting diversity at Marvel. The character’s Hispanic, and the writer is black – their only current writer of colour (since Marjorie Liu isn’t currently doing anything), and the first black writer they’ve had in years – I think since 2009.

    • I’m most likely going to pick up Silver Surfer as well. As for All-New Ghost Rider, I’m wary of what I’ve seen so far with this new interpretation of the character…

Leave a Reply

