Retroactive: Detective Comics 2013 & Amazing Spider-Man 2013

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2013detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Amazing Spider-Man 2013
amazing-spider-man-logo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2013 & Amazing Spider-Man 2013

  1. ASM #700 cover is awesome, worthy of the last issue like you said. Just have to say I also liked the hardcover of Batman A Death in the Family, basically the same as that Detective cover but with a dust jacket of the Joker’s face skin over top of Batman.

    • On the actual issue itself (and all the other first issues of the various titles for Death of the Family) the Joker face was also featured as a separate flap. Seeing Batman and his allies wearing the creepy face of the Joker was quite a sight.

  2. I really like ASM # 699.1. The lighting, the colouring, the dark atmosphere (created by the bats and the pouring rain surrounding Morbius and Spidey)… every single detail of this cover really pleases my eye, so, despite my appreciation for the creativity of ASM # 700, I give the gold medal to the previous issue.
    As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 24.
    In the foreground you can see a muscular superhero and a villain trying to shoot him with a giant gun. As I told you in the last Punisher/Green Arrow Retroactive feature, muscular superheroes and giant guns are the trademarks of the era during which I started reading comics, so a cover having both of them has a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    I also love the contrast between the cool colours of Batman’s costume and the various tones of yellow and orange that enlighten his back, his cowl and part of his head.
    The colouring is gorgeous, but the lighting is even better: for example, the light passing through the holes of Batman’s cowl is a marvellous detail that makes you understand how thought out and well executed this cover is.
    The fourth reason why I pick this cover is the background. The fire surrounding Batman and the villain, the firing airplanes and the ruined building are all awesome details and give the cover an even more heated atmosphere.
    Special mention for Detective Comics # 14, because I love how meticulously the cover artist drew the plants surrounding Batman.

    • “I really like ASM # 699.1.”
      I’ve never really been a fan of Morbius but that cover is certainly eye-catching. For me, my runner-up would go to ASM #698 for shock value alone. A dying Otto uttering Peter Parker’s name? Could he possibly know that he is Spider-Man?

      “As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 24.”
      The artist nailed it with all these Batman-Wrath covers. From the amalgamation cover to the one where he uses the city as a throne to your selection. A really, really well done batch of covers. My runner-up would be bestowed to #18 though. An emotionally charged cover with the perfect use of shadows and weather elements. R.I.P. Damian, Rest In Peace…

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections! Much appreciated.

  3. I really like Detective Comics Vol II #16 with the Batman struggling as the Joker’s face appears on all the computer screens, its a really creepy image, and also sees the Dark Knight in grave danger. Really exciting and makes you want to read the issues right away. I agree with you, Amazing Spiderman #700 is a brilliant cover, such s clever collage made up of so many Spiderman images. I love this one!

    • “Really exciting and makes you want to read the issues right away.”
      Exactly. Will Batman succumb to the effects of the Joker’s gas? Is this confirmation of his worst fear that the Joker knows where the Bat-Cave is? A real nice selection indeed.

      Thanks for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

