Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1993 & Daredevil 1992

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1992 and Daredevil 1991. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 1993legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1992daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1993 & Daredevil 1992

  1. I agree with you that Daredevil # 300 is by far the best cover of the year.
    Special mention for Daredevil # 301: Matt’s body partially swathed in shadows, the villain impending over him with a sneer on his face, fog coming from the chimneys, amazing light effects upon the buildings in the background… this cover has a lot of marvellous details, so I give it the silver medal without the shadow of a doubt.
    Unfortunately in 1992 Scott McDaniel started drawing the covers and the interior pages of this series. He’s the worst Daredevil artist ever, so it will be a real hard task to find a gold-medal-deserving cover in the next Daredevil’s Retroactive posts.
    As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is LOTDK Annual # 3.
    First of all, there is the Knightfall version of Batman: I love alternative outfits and I also love the character of Jean Paul Valley, so his presence immediately made me fall in love with this cover.
    Also, notice that the superhero is in the background, and the supporting characters are in the foreground: usually it’s just the opposite, so this unusual artistic choice deserves the gold medal alone.
    I also love the various tones of light blue, blue and black used for colouring Jean Paul and the long haired character, the title “Blood Lines” partially covered by some green spots whose shape reminds of blood stains, Jean Paul’s legs being very muscular and full of pouches… yes, this cover definitely deserves the first prize.

    • “I agree with you that Daredevil # 300 is by far the best cover of the year.”
      Not only did you and I agree but Paul Bowler as well!

      “Special mention for Daredevil # 301”
      My runner-up would have to be directed towards #304. A classic shot that would be just at home here as it would on a Batman cover. I also like the idea of #307-#309’s concept of having the three playing cards with the three heroes at the top with the last cover showing them all shot up. Perfect idea for a storyline entitled Dead Man’s Hand.

      “He’s the worst Daredevil artist ever, so it will be a real hard task to find a gold-medal-deserving cover in the next Daredevil’s Retroactive posts.”
      Challenge accepted. 🙂

      “As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is LOTDK Annual # 3.”
      And your passion for the cover truly comes across. For me, my runners-up would be a tie, a tie because together they are that much better. #42 starts off with Batman in the centre, foliage forming the border, blood ominously dripping down which is then replicated with the following issue’s cover #43 but this time we have Poison Ivy in the centre showcased in the most sinister and evil way that I have ever seen her drawn, the foliage border haven given way to similarly positioned bat wings. These two covers are simply phenomenal!

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices!

  2. I had a feeling we would choose the same covers and I was right! Really like LOTDK #54 Mike Mignola’s art is stunning, and this cover is magnificently dark and gothic. I love it. The blood red sky and how Batman’s cape flows into the becoming the hill itself, just brilliant.

    Daredevil #300 is a very simple, yet highly effective cover. With DD looming over him and Kingpin seemingly a broken man, having fallen weeping to his knees. Powerful stuff!

    • Mignola’s Batman cover was awesome and I also had a good feeling that you and I would be on the same page. As for Daredevil #300, not only did you and I agree but wwayne as well. You know it is something special when all three of us agree. Fantastic! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your picks!

Leave a Reply

