Retroactive: The Flash 1983 & Uncanny X-Men 1991

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1982 and Uncanny X-Men 1990. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1983flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1991uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

11 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1983 & Uncanny X-Men 1991

  1. I don’t normally chime in on The Flash because I’m not/wasn’t a regular reader of that series but I did grow up in the Bronze Age and saw those covers when I was a kid. They are so silly! I mean that in the best possible way. Rendering an empty flash costume on the cover not once but twice in a year?! Of course, I’m talking about #320 with Flash’s costume in the arms of Eradicator and #325 with Reverse Flash’s costume draped over a coffin. But, my favorite, for the pure cheese ball factor is #327 with the Justice League thumbs up/thumbs down. So evocative of that time period. Over to Uncanny X-Men and I have to say, how many more times could they have teased the death of Professor X? I mean, come on. In the end, this is a slam dunk and you nailed it. The trifold cover of #275 is amazing. I remember bringing that one home and just studying it. It still blows my mind when I open it up.

    • “But, my favorite, for the pure cheese ball factor is #327 with the Justice League thumbs up/thumbs down. So evocative of that time period.”
      Yeah that cover drew a chuckle from me.

      “Over to Uncanny X-Men and I have to say, how many more times could they have teased the death of Professor X?”
      You could say that having all those teases in such a finite amount of space is a little bit of…overkill? 🙂

      “The trifold cover of #275 is amazing. I remember bringing that one home and just studying it. It still blows my mind when I open it up.”
      Glad to see we are on the same page with this one. Thanks for sharing your choices along with offering your commentary.

  2. I really like Flash # 322.
    First of all, we’re seeing the superhero from the point of view of the villain, so the cover artist managed to give us the illusion we’re part of the scene he depicted. It takes TONS of talent and creativity to create this effect, so I could give it the gold medal for this reason alone.
    Secondly, that BLAM! raises a lot of questions:
    1) Did the sniper manage to wound the Flash?
    2) If the villain hit the target, where exactly did the bullet pierce the body of our hero?
    3) Also, notice that our hero gets progressively closer to the ground: is he stooping because he managed to avoid the bullet and he wants to avoid the next ones, or is he falling because he’s been wounded and he can’t stand on his feet?
    Thirdly, I love the contrast between the bright colours of the scene depicted in the foresight and the total black covering the rest of the image.
    As for the X – Men, UXM # 272 has a lot of marvellous details: the presence of Cable, the giant gun he’s holding, the title being partially covered by him and Storm, the use of shadows on Logan’s face and neck, the light shining off his claws… yes, this cover definitely deservers the gold medal.
    Special mention for UXM # 274: the presence of Nick Fury in the foreground and a beautiful woman being almost naked in the background are more than enough to get the second prize in my personal ranking. I also love how Jim Lee drew Magneto’s mantle.

    • “I really like Flash # 322.”
      This was my personal runner-up. To add to your list of questions:

      1. Did the sniper see Barry Allen transform into his Flash outfit? The sniper must have and more to the point he or she must have know that Barry was the Flash to begin with.

      2. Who is this sniper that has the ability to hit the fastest man alive with a bullet? The skill and anticipation-level would be astounding.

      “As for the X – Men, UXM # 272 has a lot of marvellous details: the presence of Cable, the giant gun he’s holding, the title being partially covered by him and Storm, the use of shadows on Logan’s face and neck, the light shining off his claws… yes, this cover definitely deservers the gold medal.”
      I called this one wrong. I though for sure that #282 would earn your first place prize.

      “Special mention for UXM # 274: the presence of Nick Fury in the foreground and a beautiful woman being almost naked in the background are more than enough to get the second prize in my personal ranking.”
      And this gorgeous cover wins my runner-up award as well.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

      • “I though for sure that #282 would earn your first place prize.” That cover won the bronze medal. Also, UXM # 273 got very, very close to the 3rd prize.
        By the way, I finally had the job interview with that publishing house. They decided to hire me, so from now on I’ll write the summary of the plot on the back cover of the novels they publish.
        It is very difficult to find a job here in Italy, especially if you have just taken a degree and don’t have any work experience, so I don’t want to waste this unique chance, and I’ll do all my best to convince them that they did the right thing when they decided to hire me.
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

  3. Wow, some great coves to choose from here! I really liked The Flashy #325 with Professor Zooms empty costume draped over his coffin, what a striking image this is and really makes you want to dive into the issue! I also picked Uncanny X-Men #275 this brilliant fold out cover is incredible, with the new team and costumes, it has a vey classic vibe to the costumes as well, with colors just like the Original X-Men costumes. A brilliant retroactive, we are being spoiled for choice with all these brilliant covers! Have a great weekend 😀

    • “I really liked The Flashy #325 with Professor Zooms empty costume draped over his coffin, what a striking image this is and really makes you want to dive into the issue!”
      A very ominous cover indeed. Usually it is a death of a hero that takes the spotlight but featuring the death of a villain by way of the empty suit on the cover is quite innovative. Great choice.

      “I also picked Uncanny X-Men #275 this brilliant fold out cover is incredible, with the new team and costumes, it has a vey classic vibe to the costumes as well, with colors just like the Original X-Men costumes. A brilliant retroactive, we are being spoiled for choice with all these brilliant covers! Have a great weekend”
      #275’s brilliance cannot be denied. Also, I hope you had an excellent weekend as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

