Retroactive: The Flash 1984 & Uncanny X-Men 1992

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1983 and Uncanny X-Men 1991. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1984flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1992uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1984 & Uncanny X-Men 1992

  1. I really like UXM # 290. The X – covers usually show very uptight situations: this image, on the contrary, conveys a deep sense of peace. Storm with her eyes closed, her body covered by a light rain, her face and breast enlightened by a light from above… every single detail of this cover helps building a nice relaxing atmosphere, and I really appreciate it.
    I also wonder what this image could signify. Water is a symbol of purification, so maybe this cover wants to convey the message that Ororo got over the bad patch during which she used to behave in a very nasty way (the cover for UXM # 214 perfectly points out how cruel she had become).
    Silver medal for UXM # 292. A heated fight scene, bullets flying all over, giant muscles, giant guns, raging faces… this cover is so full of energy and action that it makes you feel thrilled even before starting to read the issue.
    Bronze medal for UXM # 294. Cable’s presence and the artistic choice of showing him from on high are more than enough to get a spot on my personal podium.
    I love romantic superhero stories, so UXM # 289 got very, very close to the 3rd prize.
    As for the Flash, I pick issue # 332. I love when a writer decides to give a personal touch to an old cliché, and this is exactly what happened here. The “superhero undeservedly charged” cliché has been used countless times, but in this case it’s the man behind the mask who has been charged, not the superhero. A delightful twist indeed.

    • “I really like UXM # 290.”
      This cover is magnificent and just narrowly missed out on winning first place for me.

      “Bronze medal for UXM # 294. Cable’s presence and the artistic choice of showing him from on high are more than enough to get a spot on my personal podium.”
      I knew this cover would rank in your Top 3, I was just unsure of where. For me, my bronze medal would go to the cover that just missed yours, UXM #289. With this cover and #290 it appeared this was a good period for Storm. Not only did she have someone who loved her but she was at peace as well. Of course, this being an X-Men comic, that peace would be short-lived as #291 has her terrified and fighting zombie-like creatures. 🙂

      “As for the Flash, I pick issue # 332. I love when a writer decides to give a personal touch to an old cliché, and this is exactly what happened here. The “superhero undeservedly charged” cliché has been used countless times, but in this case it’s the man behind the mask who has been charged, not the superhero. A delightful twist indeed.”
      This was my runner-up as well. We were so close to being bang on for both categories but alas it was not meant to be. I’d also like to direct special mention to Flash #338 as the character has actually torn through the cover itself as he hides from his would be pursuer. A really nice idea executed by the artist.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

  2. I really liked the cover of Flash #335 as well, a really different cover! Its unusual to see Flash lashing out like this, smashing at the logo of his own comic, very clever and it makes you want to read the comic right away to see what’s got Flash so worked up.

    Uncanny X-Men #290 is a brilliant cover, featuring close up of Storm, with the rain pouring down. Its a beautiful cover, Storm looks stunning, and I like how see seem to be basking in the sheer power of the weather that she controls.

    • You and I agree on Flash, you and wwayne agree on UXM. All in all, we can all agree on there being some pretty great covers for each respective series.

      Thanks for providing your choices. It is much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

