Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1996 & Daredevil 1995

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1995 and Daredevil 1994. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 1996legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1995daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1996 & Daredevil 1995

  1. It was a really hard task to choose the best Bat – cover. When I look at the covers you upload, I usually take my decision at first sight; in this case, I couldn’t do it, because there are 3 covers that really pleased my eye:
    – LOTDK # 80, because it foreshadows a whodunit story;
    – LOTDK # 81, because it’s a classic action packed cover;
    – LOTDK # 89, because I love Clayface.
    At the end I decided to give the gold medal to LOTDK # 80. Silver medal for LOTDK # 81.
    As for Matt, I pick the same cover you chose, because even in this case the cover foreshadows a detective story.
    Special mention for Daredevil # 343: a gun in the foreground, neon lights, a fire escape, a character whose face is swathed in shadows… this cover has many typical elements of dark comics, and all of them are very eye – pleasing for me, so I give it the silver medal without hesitation.

    • “At the end I decided to give the gold medal to LOTDK # 80. Silver medal for LOTDK # 81.”
      I thought for sure that #81 was going to be your top pick. For me my 2nd Place cover would be LOTK #87 with Batman peering up as blood pours down on him. Quite ominous indeed! 3rd Place goes to LOTDK #80.

      “Special mention for Daredevil # 343: a gun in the foreground, neon lights, a fire escape, a character whose face is swathed in shadows… this cover has many typical elements of dark comics, and all of them are very eye – pleasing for me, so I give it the silver medal without hesitation.”
      That was quite an eye-catching cover. I took one look at it and wondered who this man was coming down the fire escape. Then I wondered who was pursuing him? Dark, moody, and mysterious secures this cover as my runner-up pick as well.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

  2. I agree, Legend of the Dark Knight Annual #6, a cover very indicative of its time. Clever how it portrays a female warrior who can be traced to the Dark Knight, and I really like how her armour has so many elements of the bat, as does the background. A very unusual; and distinctive cover.

    I like Daredevil #431 with the Kingpin reaching out from the shadows to grab Daredevil. Its a very plain, yet dark brooding cover, and also features DD’s other costume at this time.

    Great choice of covers for this retroactive 😀

    • “Clever how it portrays a female warrior who can be traced to the Dark Knight, and I really like how her armour has so many elements of the bat, as does the background. A very unusual; and distinctive cover.”
      Her character design is great and makes me wish that she makes a comeback somehow one of these days.

      “I like Daredevil #341 with the Kingpin reaching out from the shadows to grab Daredevil. Its a very plain, yet dark brooding cover, and also features DD’s other costume at this time.”
      Yes, I love how immense and dangerous the artist rendered the Kingpin and the use of shadows is spot on.

      Thanks for sharing your choices!

Leave a Reply

