On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 06/18/14

Radar

It is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Batman and Ra’s al Ghul #32
Batman And Ras Al Ghul #32
Creative Team

Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason
Solicitation
“‘The Hunt for Robin’ concludes! Batman has caught up to Ra’s al Ghul, and the battle for the bodies of Talia and Damian begins!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is it, the grand finale of this storyline that began with the death of Damian. Next month this comic is back to being called Batman and Robin but does that really mean he’s coming back? I’m on the edge of my seat with anticipation!
________________________________________________________

Daredevil #4
Daredevil #4
Creative Team
Mark Waid and Chris Samnee
Solicitation

“The Owl is back! But he’s not working alone! Watch as the Daredevil team permanently redefines one of DD’s oldest enemies deadlier than ever! Plus–whatever happened to Foggy Nelson?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Reinventing and reinterpreting villains can be hit and miss. Under a skilled writer it can rejuvenate the character giving him a new lease on life while under a lesser writer it could signify a trip into creative purgatory until another writer comes along to rescue the character. In the case of Mark Waid we have an exception writer and teamed with his usual cohort, Chris Samnee, on visuals we are guaranteed something really special. Learning who the Owl is working with is intriguing as is the revelation of what is truly going on with the “deceased” Foggy Nelson. My only complaint? It is only 20 pages long.
 ________________________________________________________

Harley Quinn #7
Harley Quinn #7
Creative Team

Amanda Conner and Chad Hardin
Solicitation
“Welcome to Ladies’ Night, where Harley gets her butt kicked by Big Bertha Bensonhurts at the roller derby, starts a massive bar fight and teams up with Poison Ivy to find out who hired all those pesky assassins!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Harley + Ivy. That dynamic duo is reason alone of why I’m looking forward to this issue. Every time they team up in whatever medium you choose it takes everything up another notch in quality and enjoyability. In fact, I’d love if their relationship was on full display on a more permanent basis…
________________________________________________________

Original Sin #4
Original Sin #4 (of 8)
Creative Team

Jason Aaron and Mike Deodato
Solicitation
“TRUST NO ONE. NOT EVEN YOURSELF. One hero goes rogue. Another loses his head. o Dr. Strange and the Punisher team up for a daring raid. And all trails now lead to one suspect. But he… how is that even possible? ”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
At the end of the third issue my jaw dropped. “What did I just witness?” I asked myself. “How could he?” I wondered. “Is he really dead?” I wondered. Question, after question, after question. And that was from only one page. There are many more questions that need answering besides those I just listed and that has me even more giddy with excitement.
________________________________________________________

Silver Surfer #3
Silver Surfer #3
Creative Team

Dan Slott and Michael Allred
Solicitation
“Any old heroes can save the day. The Surfer and Dawn are out to save the day AFTER. As everything goes kablooey, find out why the fate of every possible tomorrow rests… in a wind-up toy monkey. No. Really. One of those creepy things with the cymbals. Also, after 48 years in comics, one of the most under appreciated characters in the entire Marvel Universe FINALLY gets a name. Have your handbooks ready!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Read that solicitation. Go on, read it. This series not only has gorgeous art but outside-the-box ideas and some that are even more bizarre than that. If that solicitation doesn’t explain why I’m interested in this issue, I don’t know what else I can say.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Alex + Ada #7
Avengers #31
Batman Eternal #11
Batwoman #32
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 #4
Elektra #3
Green Lantern: New Guardians #32
Iron Man #28
New 52: Futures End #7
Punisher #7
Supergirl #32
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #35
Translucid #3
Uncanny X-Men #22
Wolverine and the X-Men #5
Wonder Woman #32
X-Men #15
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 06/18/14 goes to….
Original Sin #4
Original Sin #4 (of 8)

I have no clue where we are going next and I like it that way!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (8 Issues), Marvel (10 Issues), and Independent (4 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

 

 

6 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 06/18/14

  1. Iron Man, Silver Surfer, Uncanny X-Men and X-Men, from Marvel. My Little Pony. And I’m also going to pick up The Wicked and the Divine, the new Image title by Gillen and McKelvie. I’m looking forward to that. Both volumes of Phonogram were great, and their Young Avengers was probably my favourite Marvel title of 2013.

    • “And I’m also going to pick up The Wicked and the Divine, the new Image title by Gillen and McKelvie. I’m looking forward to that.”
      Oh yes! I’m definitely going to pick that one up as well. If it is half as good as their Young Avengers then we should be in for a real treat.

Leave a Reply

