Retroactive: Green Arrow 2004 & The Punisher 2003

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Green Arrow 2003 and The Punisher 2002. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Green Arrow 2004green_arrow-logo___________________________________________________

The Punisher 2003punisherlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Green Arrow 2004 & The Punisher 2003

  1. I really like Green Arrow # 32.
    The first thing we notice are the legs of a woman: the cover artist decided not to show her face (which gives the cover a mysterious vibe I really appreciate), but we can guess how stunning she is from the way Connor and his friend are looking at her. Their eyes being wide open create a comical and light – hearted atmosphere I absolutely adore.
    I also love how meticulously the cover artist defined the legs of the woman (especially her tendons) and the face of Connor’s friend.
    Special mention for Green Arrow # 35, because, as you know, I love when a supporting character of a series appears into another comic book.
    I give the other silver medal to Punisher # 27 for the same reason.
    The other gold medal goes to Punisher # 30. As you know, I love detailed backgrounds, and in this case Bradstreet surely spent a lot of time drawing the buildings behind Frank. I pick this cover also because it’s not the same old close – up of Frank’s face or body.

    • “Their eyes being wide open create a comical and light – hearted atmosphere I absolutely adore.”
      Every once and a while you need some comedy to break up the usually heavy topics contained in your average series and this issue looks to do just that. Connor’s friend is actually Oliver’s former sidekick Roy Harper by the way.

      “Special mention for Green Arrow # 35, because, as you know, I love when a supporting character of a series appears into another comic book.”
      This cover and #36 are my runner-ups. I love #35 with the Riddler standing in front of a giant bullseye, arrow after arrow missing its mark. And #36 with the giant nuclear explosion taking place in the city, an explosion that forms the villain’s trademark question mark while highlighting the fantastically coloured drawing of Oliver is astounding! Special mention to #33 as well. I love that kinetic old school cover and the way the car looks like it is going to speed off the page and into our homes.

      “The other gold medal goes to Punisher # 30. As you know, I love detailed backgrounds, and in this case Bradstreet surely spent a lot of time drawing the buildings behind Frank. I pick this cover also because it’s not the same old close – up of Frank’s face or body.”
      A really great shot of the Punisher and a cover that wins my 3rd place award. As for #2, that would go to #29’s wall of criminals. There is also a lot of work that went into making that one.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your selections!

  2. I thought Green Arrow Vol 5 #35 featuring the Riddler was a good cover, such a great character, so great to seem him featured on a GA cover like this. Punisher Vol 5 #28 is another really good cover in this series, with Punisher featured to one side, while the target cross hairs rests over the skull images running down the right hand side of the cover.

    Some great covers from both these titles in this edition of retroactive, made it tough to decide which covers I liked best this time 😀

    • “I thought Green Arrow Vol 5 #35 featuring the Riddler was a good cover, such a great character, so great to seem him featured on a GA cover like this.”
      This was my runner-up cover alongside its partner #36. “Whose bomb is it anyway?” is quite an enticing question and makes us wonder if the Riddler is actually working alongside someone as well.

      “Some great covers from both these titles in this edition of retroactive, made it tough to decide which covers I liked best this time.”
      I love these type of weeks most of all! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your choices. It is much appreciated.

      • Yes, that cover really makes you wonder what the Riddler is up to. There are always so many great covers to pick from, always fun seeing what covers get chosen, makes is even better when they are all so good like this 😀

Leave a Reply

