Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1997 & Daredevil 1996

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1996 and Daredevil 1995. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 1997legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1996daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1997 & Daredevil 1996

  1. I really like Daredevil # 351.
    First of all, I deeply appreciate the wide range of emotions collected in this cover: we have a terrified man who is about to be beaten up, a very muscular villain showing a raging face and our hero being totally impassive. The contrast between these so different attitudes really catches our attention.
    Secondly, the scene is taking place in a murky blind alley, which is one of my favorite settings in superhero comics.
    Thirdly, the background creates a wonderful atmosphere. The fog partially covering the buildings, the skyscrapers being full of lights, the gorgeous tone of blue used for the sky… every single detail of this cover is pure awesomeness.
    As for Bruce, my favorite Bat – cover is LOTDK # 101.
    First of all, it shows an alternative outfit of Batman, and this caught my attention alone.
    And then I gave the cover a closer look, and I realized 2 other question – raising (and therefore gold – medal – deserving) details:
    – A bloody tear is coming down from Bruce’s left eye;
    – The costume has apparently become part of Bruce’s flesh, because his mouth and chin seem to be made with metal.
    This a cover has a creepy vibe that might be disturbing for a younger public, but is highly enticing for us mature readers, so I give it the gold medal without hesitation.

    • “I really like Daredevil # 351.”
      I had a very strong feeling that this was going to be your cover of choice. I thought that #357’s Enforcer cover had a chance for possibly second place for you as well. For me, my #2 and #3 picks are #354 and #358 respectively. I love that image of Spidey’s light shining on Daredevil. We’re use to that scene happening when our favourite web-slinger does battle against criminals but what would lead these two heroes to go head-to-head? #358 meanwhile is a striking image with special guest star Mysterio, the flames, the fog, and the old-timey font adding to its greatness.

      “- A bloody tear is coming down from Bruce’s left eye;
      – The costume has apparently become part of Bruce’s flesh, because his mouth and chin seem to be made with metal.”
      I did not catch these at first glance. Great eye wwayne!

      “This a cover has a creepy vibe that might be disturbing for a younger public, but is highly enticing for us mature readers, so I give it the gold medal without hesitation.”
      A stellar choice. For me my runner-up is #94. The familiar figure of Batman with a background of some of his greatest covers? That is what I call a win-win!

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices and providing your in-depth analysis. Such a joy to read each and every edition. 🙂

      • “I thought that #357′s Enforcer cover had a chance for possibly second place for you as well.” Actually my runner – up is the cover you chose. Bronze medal for Daredevil # 349.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices and providing your in-depth analysis.” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your reply! : )

  2. I really liked LOTDK #100 as well, a stunning cover indeed, great how it also features Robin / Dick Grayson taking the oath to become the Dark Knights crime fighting partner, a great event in the Bat Mythos that’s right there with the Wayne’s murder in Crime Alley & the bat that flew in the window and inspired Bruce to take the mantel of the Bat. An amazing cover by Alex Ross!

    I chose Daredevil #348 this time as my fave cover, with DD smashing in through the strained glass window. A really eye grabbing and exciting image, that also links symbolically into the mythos of Daredevil / Matt Murdock as well.

    What a great Retroactive, have a great weekend 😀

    • “I chose Daredevil #348 this time as my fave cover, with DD smashing in through the strained glass window. A really eye grabbing and exciting image, that also links symbolically into the mythos of Daredevil / Matt Murdock as well.”
      Imagine that cover if it was done with DC’s 3D cover treatment. Now that would be something truly amazing!

      Thanks for providing your choices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

