Between The Continuity – Pull-List Adds & Drops

 

Icon

The time has come once again for me to take a hard look at my pull-list and make some changes. As I bid farewell to some series, I welcome new ones into the fold all the while making note of others that are on the verge of making an exit in the near future if they don’t shape up, series that are in the Danger Zone. Without further ado:

DROPS

New 52: Futures End – It failed to live up to my expectations and it was a fairly easy decision to drop since it is a weekly series and taking four valuable spots each month.

Justice League 3000 – A series that started with such promise seems to be just spinning its wheels in place. I have a feeling that it might not be long for this world either.

Amazing X-Men – I have zero interest in the World War Wendigo arc so I’m ending my time with this series now. Maybe I’ll pick it back up if the next arc catches my interest.

Wolverine and the X-Men – A series that has lost its charm and has lost any excitement that I once had for it.

All-New Doop – A superfluous title that I can’t come up with a good reason to continue with.

Avengers Undercover – This follow-up to Avengers Arena is missing that special spark that the previous volume had. Not even throwing in one of my favourite villains in the form of Baron Zemo could save it.

Five Ghosts – The latest arc ended and I’ve decided that it is the perfect jumping off point.

Angel & Faith – It pales in comparison to the previous volume and I could never really get into it. Angel and Faith are better when they are together rather than splitting them apart, that is for sure.

ADDS

The Woods – An intriguing concept, some neat character work, and some stellar art has won me over.

Rai – Speaking of stellar art, this series is bountiful with it.

Lumberjanes – Quirky, charming, and just plain fun.

Doctor Spektor – A four issue mini-series written by Mark Waid impressed me with its first issue.

DANGER ZONE

Batwoman – This book has not been the same since J.H. Williams left.

Aquaman – The same can be said for this book and the departure of Geoff Johns.

Supergirl – Little plot progression and the character’s more entertaining appearances in Red Lanterns has made this book almost pointless.

Justice League United – I had big time levels of anticipation for this title but it has not reached said levels yet.

Moon Knight – A new creative team is on the horizon and they have me cautious about this book’s future.

X-Men – And the same can be said about this series too.

Indestructible – Losing my attention with each subsequent issue.

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 1985 & Uncanny X-Men 1993
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 06/06/14-06/16/14 (The Return of the Pre-52, DC’s Movie Plans, & Other News & Trailers)
Retroactive: Green Arrow 2004 & The Punisher 2003
The Top 5 Comic Countdown: 05/28/14
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (06/13/14-06/20/14)
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 06/25/14
Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1997 & Daredevil 1996
________________________________________________________
The RankingsRankings Summary
Here’s the quick summary of what happened for the Week of 06/04/14 in regards to my Comic Book Rankings:
Titles Moving Up: +4 – Earth 2 and Iron Fist: The Living Weapon. +3 – Magneto and Deadpool VS Carnage. +2 – Harley Quinn, Coffin Hill, Red Lanterns, The Sandman: Overture, Smallville Season 11: Lantern, Fantastic Four, Iron Man, Serenity: Leaves on the Wind, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10. +1 – Green Lantern: New Guardians, Supergirl, Superman/Wonder Woman, Justice League United, Dead Boy Detectives, Superman, Sinestro, Amazing Spider-Man, Original Sin, The Punisher, Elektra, Silver Surfer, All-New X-Factor, X-Men, Quantum & Woody, Atomic Robo: The Knights of the Golden Circle, Translucid, and Indestructible.
Titles Moving Down: -6 – Jupiter’s Legacy. -1 – Avengers, Moon Knight, Ms. Marvel, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.
For the complete list go HERE.
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadNothing really to report or to announce. Business will be as usual.
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

 

7 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Pull-List Adds & Drops

  1. I’m with you on Supergirl. It’s one of the few New 52 titles I’ve been reading since the start, and when Tony Bedard took over, not only has her character development slowed, but it’s actually kind of regressed. And Red Lanterns is so much better so far. It’s a shame because, honestly, she’s a more interesting character than Superman because Superman works best as an archetype, while there’s plenty of room for Supergirl to grow.

    Justice League United has been fun, but that’s about it. I was hoping for more from the writer of Animal Man too.

    • “Justice League United has been fun, but that’s about it. I was hoping for more from the writer of Animal Man too.”
      The best element of that series is the Green Arrow-Animal Dynamic.

      “It’s a shame because, honestly, she’s a more interesting character than Superman because Superman works best as an archetype, while there’s plenty of room for Supergirl to grow.”
      Yes. I want to see more of Supergirl and the Silver Banshee’s friendship. That short little arc where she is showing Supergirl the ropes and they become roommates was great and I really hope they revisit that down the road.

  2. I’m with you there on JL 3000 and Futures End, both have failed to live up to the potential of the premise, which is a great shame. The most recent additions to my pull list are Ghost Rider, Justice League United, and The Mercenary Sea, I’m really enjoying those titles. Moon Knight is another favourite of mine, but sadly the news about the new creative team has also left me cautious about this book as well.

    • “I’m with you there on JL 3000 and Futures End, both have failed to live up to the potential of the premise, which is a great shame.”
      Futures End has to be my biggest disappointment of the bunch. For a weekly series it got off on the wrong foot and never seemed to find its footing afterwards. It had such potential and it blew it. This makes me, as a DC fan, very sad indeed…

  3. Completely agree with Futures End: I thought it had a grim and brutal tone, which was way too soon after Forever Evil. I’ve heard many good things about Lumber Janes, however.

    • Lumberjanes is the refreshing and just plain fun series that cleanses the palette after the gritty and serious tone of other series. It is so well received that it elevated itself from a mini-series to an ongoing as well!

Leave a Reply

