Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1998 & Daredevil 1997

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1997 and Daredevil 1996. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 1998legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1997daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1998 & Daredevil 1997

  1. I completely agree with both the covers you chose, so I can only make some special mentions.
    The Bat – silver medal goes to LOTDK # 107. It’s a classic action packed cover, with a motorcycle rending the air and dangerously falling near some terrified passersby. I also love the detailed background, Bruce’s face swathed in shadows, his body being very muscular… yes, this cover definitely deserves the 2nd prize.
    The other silver medal goes to Daredevil # 361. The red – eyed villain being swathed in shadows is very enthralling, and his ominous presence gives the cover a mysterious vibe I absolutely adore.

    • “I completely agree with both the covers you chose, so I can only make some special mentions.”
      Whoa! Two for two is quite a rare sight. 🙂

      “The Bat – silver medal goes to LOTDK # 107.”
      There were so many amazing covers this year that narrowing it down to a Top 3 would be impossible for me. Other covers I really liked were #103-#104 (continuing the beauty of my #1 pick), #105 (the sight of the Joker peering behind the Bat-signal to launch a lit bomb at an unsuspecting Commissioner Gordon is both cartoony and eye-catching), and #109 (Batman battling the Riddler as a young boy imitates the epic battle in the comfort of his own room).

      “The other silver medal goes to Daredevil # 361.”
      And I agree whole-heartedly with your selection as it too is my #2 pick.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices!

  2. Awesome choice of covers in this retroactive. I went for Legend of the Dark Knight #105 with commissioner Gordon kneeling in front of the Bat Signal, picking up the card, with the Joker lurking behind the signal with a bomb. Great to see the Bat Signal feature so prominently on the cover, don’t see that very often, a great LODK cover! I really like Daredevil #370 always fun to see Daredevil and the Black Widow teamed up and fighting enemies, and the action really stands out with the covers white background. A great retroactive 😀

    • “I went for Legend of the Dark Knight #105 with commissioner Gordon kneeling in front of the Bat Signal, picking up the card, with the Joker lurking behind the signal with a bomb.”
      That was an awesome cover and was one of my runner-ups. There were so many excellent covers for LOTDK this year that multiple covers could have taken home the prize. The more and more I look at it and analyze the more and more I agree with your choice though and grant it my Silver Medal for the year.

      “I really like Daredevil #370 always fun to see Daredevil and the Black Widow teamed up and fighting enemies, and the action really stands out with the covers white background.”
      I’d hope the action would stand out as it is an “All-Out Action Issue” as the cover professes. 🙂

      Thanks for providing your selections!

Leave a Reply

