On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 07/09/14

Radar

It is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

100th Anniversary Special #1: Spider-Man
100th Anniversary Special #1 Spider-Man
Creative Team
Sean Ryan and In-Hyuk Lee
Solicitation
“What does the wallcrawler look like in the far-flung future of 2061? The Kingpin has taken control of his ultra-powerful techno-symbiote suit. One of his most powerful weapons in the hands of one of his most powerful enemies, Spider-Man will have to prove once again why he’s the greatest superhero in the world! With the Kingpin in possession of a deadly weapon capable of limitless control, it’s up to the one and only Spider-Man to stop him. But how can he?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This one-shot rockets the Spider-Verse into the future where the Kingpin has become one with the Venom symbiote. Yes, that is correct: Venom is the Kingpin! Seeing a possible future for our Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man is enticing but really it boils down to the anticipation of seeing these two enemies duke it out once again albeit with the advantage squarely in the corner of Wilson Fisk. If Spidey had trouble beating him before imagine what it is going to be like now!
________________________________________________________

Daredevil #5

Creative Team
Mark Waid and Chris Samnee
Solicitation

“What killed Foggy Nelson? And now that he’s “dead,” what is he supposed to do with his life?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Ever since the relaunch, the circumstances of Foggy’s “demise” has been the largest question. Well with this issue seeing release we can finally learn the answer. Knowing Waid it certainly won’t be a run of the mill reveal but rather a tale filled with the unexpected alongside some great character work and gorgeous art from Samnee.
 ________________________________________________________

Grayson #1
Grayson #1
Creative Team

Tim Seeley and Mikel Janin
Solicitation
“Dick Grayson. Former sidekick. Former Super Hero. Former dead man. And now…agent of Spyral?! A thrilling new chapter of Dick Grayson’s life begins in this new, ongoing series. It’s a super-spy thriller that will shock you and prove one thing: You might think you know Nightwing – but you don’t know Dick. ”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT! I am filled with apprehension in regards to this new title. On one hand I’m a big fan of Dick Grayson but on the other hand I’m really not interested in this new direction they are taking him in. It is because of my love for the character that I’m giving this series a chance and I’m crossing my fingers that it wins me over.
________________________________________________________

New Suicide Squad #1
New Suicide Squad #1
Creative Team

Sean Ryan and Jeremy P. Roberts
Solicitation
“The world has changed for Task Force X, a.k.a. the Suicide Squad. Director Amanda Waller no longer has the autonomy she once had. New members disrupt the team dynamic. And the team takes on an international scope. New members Joker’s Daughter, Deathstroke and Black Manta join Harley Quinn and Deadshot for a mission in the most dangerous and unpredictable place in the world: Vladimir Putin’s Russia! ”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT! I’m a big fan of the Suicide Squad concept though I have to admit that the latest volume definitely had its ups and downs. Well the time has come to relaunch the title by keeping my two favourite characters from the previous volume (Deadshot and Harley Quinn) and adding two great characters to the roster (Black Manta and Deathstroke). Seeing this new dynamic to the team is going to be very interesting indeed as they are also joined by the Joker’s Daughter as well. Like Grayson, I’m looking forward to this series just because of that unknown element of whether it will soar with its debut issue or leave me disappointed. Looking at the roster and the possibilities makes me think that it will be more of the former than the latter.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #13
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #13
Creative Team

Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“The world’s most dangerous villains are up against the world’s most dangerous thing–THE TRUTH! The sleeper hit of the year continues, by Spencer, Lieber & Rosenberg! ”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is my #1 Marvel series due to its extreme awesomeness. Need I really say more?
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
All-New X-Men #29
Amazing Spider-Man #1.3
Avengers #32
Batgirl #33
Batman Eternal #14
Coffin Hill #9
Deadpool #31
Detective Comics #33
Fantastic Four #7
Green Lantern Corps #33
Justice League United #3
Lumberjanes #4
Rai #3
Smallville Season 11: Lantern #4
Superman/Wonder Woman #10
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 07/09/14 goes to….
Grayson #1
Grayson #1
The biggest question mark of the week has my undivided attention.
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (10 Issues), Marvel (8 Issues), and Independent (2 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

 

 

7 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 07/09/14

  1. All-New X-Men, Captain Marvel, Spider-Man 2099, X-Force.

    I should probably also check out Lumberjanes, but honestly, I’m afraid that I’ll like it and have to spend even more money each month.

  2. I’m looking forward to All New X-Men #29 been a great story with the future Brotherhood returning. Also want Batman Eternal and Daredevil next week as well, enjoying both these titles. I agree with you about Grayson #1 I’m a big fan of Nightwing, so very unsure about this new direction for the character. Will give it a chance but my hopes are not high for it. Have a great new comic book day 😀

    • Batman Eternal has been really riding on a high these last few issues. I can’t wait to see where the storyline takes us next. As for Grayson…my fingers are crossed that it is good but I’m prepared to drop it if it severely disappoints. Have a great New Comic Book Day as well.

      • Cheers 😀 Yes, Batman Eternal has been really good, been great to enjoy a new Batman issue every week. I agree with you on Grayson as well, fingers crossed with that one.

  3. A bit of a big pull list this week for me, and it had to be the week I’m covering for my manager. Batgirl 33, Justice League United 3, Blood Queen 2, All New X-Men 29, Amazing Spider-Man 1.3, Amazing X-Men 9, Avengers Undercover 7, Captain Marvel 5, Nightcrawler 4 and X-Force 7

    The big ones for me are All New X-Men and Captain Marvel.
    While Avengers Undercover isn’t as good as either of its precursors, it’s ending with issue 10 so I might as well read the rest of it.
    Unless Justice League United 3 is a step up from the previous issues, it’ll probably be my last.

    I might also end up picking up Greyson 1 and/or Chastity 1, depending on how I feel.

    • “Unless Justice League United 3 is a step up from the previous issues, it’ll probably be my last.”
      I agree. If it hasn’t improved by the end of the first arc, it will be a sad casualty to my pull-list.

      “While Avengers Undercover isn’t as good as either of its precursors, it’s ending with issue 10 so I might as well read the rest of it.”
      I’ve stuck around for many a series (comic and television) due to my unhealthy completionist compulsion. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your list. It is much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

