Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1999 & Daredevil 1998

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1998 and Daredevil 1997. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 1999legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1998daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 1999 & Daredevil 1998

  1. I really like Daredevil # 2.
    First of all, the baby is very cute, and his presence creates a tender atmosphere that is really unusual for a dark series like Daredevil.
    Secondly, Matt is lifting him up with his hands: this deed is so question – raising that it deserves the gold medal alone.
    Thirdly, the starry sky is extremely beautiful. I also love how the moonlight shines upon the body of the baby.
    As for Bruce, I completely agree with the cover you chose. Special mention for LOTDK # 114, because it’s a classic 90s cover: big muscles, countless pouches, gnashing teeth… this image shows every single trademark of that era. I’m one of the very few people who remember the 90s comics with fondness, so I give this cover the silver medal without the shadow of a doubt.

    • “Thirdly, the starry sky is extremely beautiful. I also love how the moonlight shines upon the body of the baby.”
      That background is fantastic! Him lifting the baby like that immediately makes me think of the “Lion King” movie. I can’t help it… 🙂

      For me, my runner up is DD #375. I love the layout of this cover, the drawing of Mr. Fear, and how Daredevil’s corded billy clubs swirl about to form his trademark radar sense.

      “As for Bruce, I completely agree with the cover you chose.”
      Two in a row! Can we make make it three?

      “Special mention for LOTDK # 114, because it’s a classic 90s cover”
      And for me my special mention has to go towards #121’s “chilling” Mr. Freeze cover. Seeing Batman frozen in horror is quite eye-catching!

      Thanks, as always, for providing your choices.

      • “Two in a row! Can we make it three?” We’ll see! : )
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your choices.” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

  2. P.S.: Now that I think about it, there’s a trademark that hasn’t been included: giant guns. No surprise, because of the hateful “Batman can’t be armed” policy.

  3. I went for LOTDK #119 as well, so clever how we see Two Face looking into the mirror and we see the reflection, with Batman/Gordon, gazing back. So clever, I think it so fascinating how the reflections line up. LODK always had such great covers and I think this is one of the very best. Again, in total agreement with you on Daredevil Vol 2 #1 what a stunning view of Daredevil high above the city, with the line of the bully club spiralling all over the cover. A brilliant start to a whole ne era for Daredevil, and one of my favourite storyline. A great retroactive 😀

    • Wow! You, wwayne, and I were all in agreement with LOTDK which only solidifies its greatness. As for Daredevil, that is one awesome way to kick things off.

      Thanks for sharing your selections! 🙂

Leave a Reply

