Retroactive: The Flash 1989 & Uncanny X-Men 1996

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1988 and Uncanny X-Men 1995. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1989flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1996uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1989 & Uncanny X-Men 1996

  1. I really like Flash # 29.
    First of all, we have an unusual setting (Casablanca) and three characters we’ve never seen before: these 2 details are so question – raising that they deserve the gold medal alone.
    Secondly, the cover artist is so talented that he managed to make us understand the relationships between these 3 new characters with a single image. The woman near the Flash is looking at the other two with an upset and scared face, and the other two seem to be very angry with her (you can guess it not only from their faces, but also from their aggressive body language). Who is right and who is wrong? Which characters are good and which characters are evil? Is the Flash defending an innocent or protecting a culprit? You must open the book to find it out… and this cover definitely compels you to do that. : )
    Thirdly, the background is simply awesome. The meticulously drawn castle and the gorgeous tone of purple used for the sky are the first details that caught my attention, and they definitely are the icing on the cake.
    As for the X – Men, I pick UXM # 331, because, as you know, I’m a big fan of Generation X. : )

    • “I really like Flash # 29.”
      This was my runner-up cover, a cover I very nearly chose as my #1 pick for the very reasons you so eloquently provided. Another cover I really enjoyed was #32 as I love how the main title forms into a billboard on the building. And what is going on with #26? Is that the Flash…wearing jeans?

      “As for the X – Men, I pick UXM # 331, because, as you know, I’m a big fan of Generation X.”
      And for me, my runner-ups would be #337 (love the water effect) and #332 (the stone etchings of the original five is quite captivating).

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!

  2. Well, I think Flash vol 2 Annual #3 is really nice, as it features the three versions of Flash at once. It’s an understated cover, quite simple in design, yet still fun to see the characters on the cover at the same time. Lots of great X-Men covers in this Retroactive, but I eventually settles on Uncanny X-Men #338 featuring Archangel / Angel reborn after his normal wings have returned. A great cover to mark this event!

    • “Well, I think Flash vol 2 Annual #3 is really nice, as it features the three versions of Flash at once.”
      I wonder why Wally is tearing apart his costume? Is he rejecting the legacy of the Flash? Very interesting indeed!

      “Lots of great X-Men covers in this Retroactive”
      I agree whole-heartedly. As I mentioned to wwayne, I had a real tough time picking between my eventual winner and #337 & #332. There were all X-ceptional. 🙂

      Thanks for providing your choices. It is much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

