Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2000 & Daredevil 1999

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 1999 and Daredevil 1998. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2000legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1999daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2000 & Daredevil 1999

  1. I really like LOTDK # 133.
    First of all, we have some heavily armed crooks in the foreground: submachine guns, cartridge belts, bullets flying all over… as you know, a cover showing all these details has a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    Secondly, this cover perfectly catches the essence of Batman. Our hero could die if the bullets hit a zone of his body that is not covered by his bulletproof costume (the lower part of his face, for example): Bruce perfectly knows that, but he’s so brave that he lands upon them with a perfectly calm facial expression, as if his life weren’t in peril at all. I also love how the cover artist drew his mantle.
    Thirdly, the background is simply awesome. The cover artist drew the bridge and the skyscrapers in a very meticulous way, and the colourist used gorgeous tones of purple and red for the sky.
    As for Matt, the issue you chose is the first Daredevil comic book I’ve ever read. I instantly fell in love with this character, and shortly after I bought all the back issues I could find in my city. Over a decade after I still think that Daredevil Vol. 2 # 9 is one of the best comic books I’ve ever read: in fact, I put it in the list of my favorite single issues ever (https://thegothamrogue.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/coming-attractions-103112/). For these reasons and for the gorgeousness of the image, I completely agree with the cover you chose.
    Special mention for Daredevil Vol. 2 # 3: Matt’s body partially swathed in shadows, the fog all around him, an awesome colouring… yes, this cover definitely deserves the silver medal.

    • “I really like LOTDK # 133.”
      I had a feeling our streak of picking the same cover would end this week… At least you softened the blow by your descriptive and entertaining analysis. For me, my runner-up would have to go to #130. I love the empty Bat-Suit holding Green Arrow’s bow in one hand, his arrows in the other. Then we have the bullseye that radiates form the centre with the smirking face of this issue’s villain. Finally we have a helpless and stunned Green Arrow with the spotlight shining down on him challenging him to make his next move. Add that to the gorgeous colouring and background and you have a cover that very nearly dethroned my #1 overall pick.

      “As for Matt, the issue you chose is the first Daredevil comic book I’ve ever read. I instantly fell in love with this character, and shortly after I bought all the back issues I could find in my city.”
      I was not aware that it was your first experience with the character. Not only an issue that had a awesome cover, not only an issue that had a stellar story, but also an issue that had a personal connection for you? That right there is something truly special.

      “Special mention for Daredevil Vol. 2 # 3: Matt’s body partially swathed in shadows, the fog all around him, an awesome colouring… yes, this cover definitely deserves the silver medal.”
      And we agree on the 2nd place cover as well. I guess that makes up for our difference on LOTDK this time. 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for sharing you selections!

  2. I’m with you on LOTDK #126 its a great cover featuring the Joker! I like the Christmas tree in the background and the way the chess pieces are some of the main characters, that’s so clever. Not sure I’d want to play the Joker at chess though!! I chose Daredevil vol 2 #3 with Daredevil perched on top of the roof with the cross, its such an iconic pose for the character, and looks really dark and mysterious. Hope we see scenes like this in the new TV series, that would be so cool! Have a great weekend 😀

    • “Not sure I’d want to play the Joker at chess though!!”
      Ha ha! Yes. Imagine if you beat him. A quick bullet to the head would be your reward…or possibly something even worse knowing him.

      “I chose Daredevil vol 2 #3 with Daredevil perched on top of the roof with the cross, its such an iconic pose for the character, and looks really dark and mysterious.”
      I love that cover and it earned my silver medal along with wwayne. Brilliant!

      “Hope we see scenes like this in the new TV series, that would be so cool!”
      I have faith that is exactly what we are going to get.

      Thanks for providing your choices and have a great New Comic Book Day tomorrow!

      • Indeed, think the Joker would have something nasty planned all right, LOL! Even if you let him win!! I have high hopes for the Daredevil series as well, such great potential there. Cheers and Happy New Comic Book Day 😀

  3. I fully agree that the Joker playing chess is the best cover of that year. The painted Daredevil cover is good too, but a lot of those Daredevil covers were pretty good.

    • “The painted Daredevil cover is good too, but a lot of those Daredevil covers were pretty good.”
      The years where there are so many great covers to choose from is both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because of their collective awesomeness but a curse as it takes me that much longer to pick just one.

Leave a Reply

