Between The Continuity – Exploring Social Media and Promotion

Icon

Last week I mentioned that I’d be talking about the various tools that are at my disposal and my game plan to utilize each one for the overall benefit of this blog. I thought a good place to start was to see how I was currently doing as it pertained to referrals right now. My Top 5 non-Wordpress based referrers were as follows: #1: Twitter, #2: Reddit, #3: The Old Reader, #4: Facebook, #5: Tumblr. So what does this mean?

Twitter
What is it?:
“An online social networking and microblogging service that enables users to send and read short 140-character text messages, called ‘tweets.'”
How it pertains to me: This was heads above the rest my #1 referer even when you add in my fellow WordPress blogs. It is something that I use automatically every time I do a post so that is a big reason for its success but I know I can do more. Lately I’ve been on Twitter less and less over the last few months due to a combination of lack of time and not being a fan of the new look. I’ve been ignoring it and I know that has to change if I hope to grow. Currently I sit at 1849 followers which isn’t a big number but isn’t small either. I plan to grow that audience with some more participation on the site and I’ll also be bringing back my “Comic Book Tweets of the Week” section that vanished when I eliminated the Around The Web feature. Where will it return? Most likely it will be to this very feature, Between The Continuity. I also plan on tweeting about my postings more than I am doing now to help spread the word at different times of the day.

Reddit
What is it?:
“An entertainment, social networking service and news website where registered community members can submit content, such as text posts or direct links.”
How it pertains to me: It was quite surprising how many referrals came from a site that I’m not even a registered user of so I can only imagine the possibilities once I join. I’m pretty unfamiliar with the tool but I’m eager to learn more and see if it pays off in the long run.

The Old Reader
What is it?:
“A web-based news aggregator that attempts to provide a similar feature set to the now-defunct Google Reader”
How it pertains to me: Coming in just behind Reddit was another site I had even less of a clue about. The same pretty much applies to this one as the aforementioned Reddit and I’m excited to learn more.

Facebook
What is it?:
“People use Facebook to stay connected with friends and family, to discover what’s going on in the world, and to share and express what matters to them.”
How it pertains to me: I’ve never been an active Facebooker as it pertains to my personal self but I’ve always known deep down that I would eventually have to create an account to tie into the Speech Bubble. This step will be the most time-consuming in my opinion but potentially the most rewarding as it pertains to increasing the Speech Bubble’s traffic. When I take the plunge isn’t going to be until at the earliest the beginning of August but once I do, you will hear it first on Between The Continuity.

Tumblr
What is it?:
“The service allows users to post multimedia and other content to a short-form blog.”
How it pertains to me: This one appears to me to just be an alternative to WordPress. I’m not sure if I’ll ever use it but it is something that I could explore down the road.

So that is my Top 5 but what about other services that didn’t make the cut that I’m leaving out of my blog’s promotion?

Pintrest
What is it?:
“A company that provides an Internet service that they describe as a visual discovery tool. People use Pinterest to collect ideas for projects and interests. Users create and share collections (called “boards”) of visual bookmarks (called “Pins”) that they use to do things like plan trips, develop projects, organize events or save articles and recipes.”
How it pertains to me: This could be a great tool to expand the Retroactive feature to other users and drive them to the Speech Bubble.

StumbleUpon
What is it?:
“A discovery engine (a form of web search engine) that finds and recommends web content to its users. Its features allow users to discover and rate Web pages, photos, and videos that are personalized to their tastes and interests using peer-sourcing and social-networking principles.”
How it pertains to me: This seems like an interesting tool that has never really popped-up on my radar but something worth exploring.

The Artifice
What is it?:
“The Artifice is an online magazine that covers a wide spectrum of art forms.”
How it pertains to me: I’ve gone in-depth about this site on previous postings and that I’m going to give them one more chance down the road.

Other avenues that I’m willing to look into is of course posting on the message boards of established sites such as Bleeding Cool and CBR, possibly utilizing YouTube somehow, and beyond. Is there any other avenues that I forgot to mention? Something that works for you? Let me know in the comments below. Otherwise, I wish everyone a happy week ahead!

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 1989 & Uncanny X-Men 1996
The Top 5 Comic Countdown: 06/04/14
Retroactive: Green Arrow 2007 & The Punisher 2006
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (07/04/14-07/10/14)
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 07/16/14
Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2000 & Daredevil 1999
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadAll I’ll say is “Kickstart My Heart” and leave it at that…
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

 

5 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Exploring Social Media and Promotion

  1. I’m impressed by you! I don’t have the self-esteem to advertise like you do, but I still religiously check my hits like I’m in a WordPress cult — my biggest referrers come from Reddit and Facebook as well. Since an Internet’s overnight success takes five years or so, I figure as long as you continue with the quality and quantity you’re providing, it should only be a matter of years before you’re huge (that and I’ve never seen another blogger with your crazy work ethic)!

    • Why thank you very much for the kind words and support! I’m crossing my fingers that this new initiative will pay off in the long run. I’m also sure that in a few years time your blog stats will have grown exponentially as well considering each posting you do is both engaging and of a high quality. Here’s to our mutual continued success! 🙂

  2. Social Media is great for promoting a blog and interacting with readers. Like you, I still find Twitter is the best, I’ve got used to the new format now as well. I have a Facebook page and that is doing well too. I’ve thought about Reddit but don’t really understand what that’s about, or how it works. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

