Retroactive: The Flash 1990 & Uncanny X-Men 1997

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1989 and Uncanny X-Men 1996. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1990flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1997uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1990 & Uncanny X-Men 1997

  1. I really like UXM # 148.
    In the X – covers we usually have a heated fight scene showing at least a dozen of mutants: that’s why I like when the cover artist breaks the habit and decides to draw a more calm and less crowded scene, as it happened with this image.
    Here we get only two characters, Gambit and Rogue. Usually they have a very strong feeling (http://marvel.wikia.com/Gambit_Vol_3_16), but in this case they are facing a serious crisis: in fact, both of them have a very sad facial expression, and they’re turning their back on each other. The cover artist decided to underline their critical situation by “cutting” the cover in two parts, and this is a 4th wall breaking stroke of genius that deserves the gold medal alone.
    I also love Gambit’s face partially swathed in shadows, his body being very muscular, the awesome lighting on Rogue’s glove… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    As for the Flash, you know how much I love covers that have a mysterious vibe, so I completely agree with the cover you chose.
    Special mention for Flash # 38, because even in this case we get a 4th wall breaking scene.
    Bronze medal for Flash # 42: the tagline “Night of the Mechanical Zombies” is too enticing and question – raising to be left out of the podium.

    • “The cover artist decided to underline their critical situation by “cutting” the cover in two parts, and this is a 4th wall breaking stroke of genius that deserves the gold medal alone.”
      That was indeed a real standout element of UXM #348 and a feature that very nearly made me pick it as my #1 cover as well. The expressions on the cover are top notch with Rogue in particular drawing me in. A simply fantastic cover!

      “Special mention for Flash # 38, because even in this case we get a 4th wall breaking scene.”
      And I would direct special attention to coincidentally Paul Bowler’s choice of #45 and healed1337’s pick of #34. Both are covers that caught my eye and earn my 2nd and third place prizes respectively. #45 has that classic horror-vibe to it while #34 makes me wonder just who that man with the red gloves is.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!

  2. Personally I prefer the “You don’t deserve to be Flash” cover, but the Flash Missing cover is good too.
    Fully agreed on the epic Gambit cover. Judging by the X-Men covers alone though, it looks like a really random year.

    • Flash #34 earns my bronze medal in large part to the mysterious identity of the speaker. He’s got a red glove like the Flash, he knows that Wally is the Flash, and he obviously has some standing to proclaim that Wally is not deserving of the costume. Who could it be? The mystery deepens…

      Thanks for sharing your picks! It is much appreciated. 🙂

  3. Well, I chose Flash Vol 2 #45 where Gorilla Grood seems to be victorious on the cover, as Flash is overwhelmed by a horde of animals, we only see his hand reaching out and the costume is all shredded. Makes you wonder how Flash is going to get out of this one! So many great Uncanny X-Men covers in this retroactive, I nearly went for #350 as well, but as always I go for the first cover that really grabs my attention, and this time it was Uncanny X-Men #344 featuring Cannonball Vs Gladiator! While not the most spectacular cover, its not often we’ve ever seen these two fight, let alone appear on a cover like this. You get a real sense of them rushing towards each other for an explosive fight! A great cover 😀

    • “Well, I chose Flash Vol 2 #45 where Gorilla Grood seems to be victorious on the cover, as Flash is overwhelmed by a horde of animals, we only see his hand reaching out and the costume is all shredded.”
      It is quite a chilling cover that actually reminds me of some zombie-inspired images with the single hand reaching up. Great choice and a cover that earns my silver medal.

      “While not the most spectacular cover, its not often we’ve ever seen these two fight, let alone appear on a cover like this.”
      The way the two characters are oriented really reminds me of the Yin-Yang symbol for some reason. Maybe I’m just crazy…

      Thanks for providing your choices!

      • Yes, there is a distinct Zombie tone to that Flash cover, reminds me of one of the film posters. The X-Men cover does a kind of Yin-Yang theme to it, certainly a titanic clash!

Leave a Reply

