Retroactive: The Flash 1991 & Uncanny X-Men 1998

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1990 and Uncanny X-Men 1997. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1991flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 1998uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1991 & Uncanny X-Men 1998

  1. You know how much I love whodunit stories and covers having a mysterious vibe, so the cover you chose got very close to the gold medal… but at the end I decided to pick Flash # 47: burnt down buildings, fire erupting all over them, a monstrous creature at Flash’s feet… every single detail of this cover helps building a post – apocalyptic atmosphere I absolutely adore.
    Bronze medal for Flash # 50, because the colouring and the lighting are simply awesome.
    Also, Flash # 54 got very, very close to the 3rd prize, because of its detailed and beautiful background. If I had to choose a cover basing myself only on the background, Flash # 54 would have won the gold medal.
    As for the X – Men, UXM # 358 was a no brainer choice for me. A huge gunfight, big guns, raging faces, big muscles, shoulder pads, countless pouches… this image is a classic 90s cover and shows every single detail of the action packed covers I love so much, so I give it the first prize without hesitation.

    • “Also, Flash # 54 got very, very close to the 3rd prize, because of its detailed and beautiful background. If I had to choose a cover basing myself only on the background, Flash # 54 would have won the gold medal.”
      For me, the awesomeness of Flash #54 earns my 2nd place award. I actually started out writing my posting about it but changed my mind to #56 upon further reflection. Third place goes to #49’s R.I.P. cover.

      “As for the X – Men, UXM # 358 was a no brainer choice for me. A huge gunfight, big guns, raging faces, big muscles, shoulder pads, countless pouches… this image is a classic 90s cover and shows every single detail of the action packed covers I love so much, so I give it the first prize without hesitation.”
      As soon as I spotted that image I knew you were going to select it. Everything about it screamed wwayne. 🙂 For me, my silver medal goes to UXM #361. I love the image of Gambit as he throws his playing cards, the energy wave left in their wake casting the images of his various X-Men teammates. Brilliant!

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices! And here is to an awesome weekend ahead.

      • “For me, my silver medal goes to UXM #361.” And mine goes to UXM # 357, because even in this case the cover foreshadows a post – apocalyptic story (you can guess it by the ominous tagline “A plague upon them!”). I also love the blood red background and the Hitchcock – esque vibe given by the presence of all those black birds.
        Bronze medal for UXM # 353, because I love when Wolvie is drawn with such a beastly physical aspect. I also love Rogue’s smirking face, because it makes you wonder what could have made her become so nasty.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices! And here is to an awesome weekend ahead.” Thank you as well for your replies! I hope your weekend will be awesome as well. : )

        • “I also love the blood red background and the Hitchcock – esque vibe given by the presence of all those black birds.”
          This cover is excellent and earns my bronze medal.

          “I also love Rogue’s smirking face, because it makes you wonder what could have made her become so nasty.”
          Possession? Mind control? Alternate dimension? With the X-Men anything is possible. 🙂

  2. I really like Flash Vol 2 #56 with the image of the Flash caught in the snowglobe that Captain Cold is holding. Its a very sinister image in a way, almost as if one shake of the globe and Flash will be doomed. A great cover that really creates a sense of brooding mystery. As for X-Men, well, I nearly picked the Uncanny X-Men #356 as well, and its modern version of the original 5 X-Men team members, instead I eventually picked Uncanny X-Men #359 as it features Rogue, one of my all time favorite characters. This is a really good version of the characters and a great covers as well. Cheers for a great Retroactive 😀

Leave a Reply

