Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2002 & Daredevil 2001

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 2001 and Daredevil 2000. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2002legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2001daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2002 & Daredevil 2001

  1. I really like LOTDK # 154.
    As you know, I love when a cover artist gives a personal touch to an old cliché, and this is exactly what happened here. In covers like this one you usually find the superhero in the foreground and the ominous presence of a villain’s face in the background (usually in the sky): in this case the cover artist turned this cliché upside down, because it’s the villain who stands in the foreground, and Batman’s face threateningly impends over him.
    The pouring rain is another detail that convinced me to give this cover the gold medal, because, as you know, I think it creates a wonderful atmosphere.
    I also love the Bane – like outfit of the villain, the gothic details of the building he’s leaning on, the detailed background… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    As for Matt, I had already praised Daredevil # 17 in an old Retroactive post (https://thegothamrogue.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/retroactive-detective-comics-1961-amazing-spider-man-1985/), so I decided to give it the first prize as soon as I recognized it.
    Even in this case the superhero is in the background, and in the foreground there is another character, Frog – Man’s son. Also, look at the comic book he’s holding in his hands: it is a real Daredevil back issue, and this is a 4th wall breaking stroke of genius that deserves the gold medal alone. I’m also very glad that he’s reading the Daredevil issue that made me discover this character. : )
    As you mentioned in that old Retroactive post, the third reason why I give this cover the gold medal is the artistic choice of incorporating the “with great power comes great responsibility” line. That sentence is typical of Spider – Man, so shifting it towards Daredevil is another choice I deeply appreciated.

    • “In covers like this one you usually find the superhero in the foreground and the ominous presence of a villain’s face in the background (usually in the sky): in this case the cover artist turned this cliché upside down, because it’s the villain who stands in the foreground, and Batman’s face threateningly impends over him.”
      It is a neat idea as a figure perching on a gargoyle-like structure is classic Batman. Very unexpected to see the bad guy flip the proverbial script.

      “The pouring rain is another detail that convinced me to give this cover the gold medal, because, as you know, I think it creates a wonderful atmosphere.”
      Covers with pouring rain always really standout to me as well and I love how it interacts with the image of Batman in the night sky. Your choice just misses my Top 3 with #150 and #160 taking 2nd and 3rd respectively. I love how #150 features the main title as being merged with the buildings and that shot of Batman gliding over the city is eye-catching. #160 on the other hand stands out due to its excellent use of colouring and detail.

      “As for Matt, I had already praised Daredevil # 17 in an old Retroactive post so I decided to give it the first prize as soon as I recognized it.”
      I remembered your love for the issue and knew that it would be your choice. I’d give it my runner-up award due to the very reasons you so eloquently listed. Third place would go to #14’s wild and stunning cover featuring Echo.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your expert analysis!

  2. Really like the cover of Legends of the Dark Knight ##160 with Batman caught in the glair of twin floodlights as bullets explode off the side of the building around him, his cape splaying in the wind. Its a superb cover that really captures the action and urgency of the moment. So many brilliant Daredevil covers to pick from in this retroactive, I love the abstract style of these covers, and I eventually settle on Daredevil #Vol 2 #25 as I feel it really captures the essence of DD’s character. A brilliant retroactive and some stunning covers!

Leave a Reply

