Retroactive: Green Arrow 2010 & The Punisher 2009

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Green Arrow 2009 and The Punisher 2008. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Green Arrow 2010green_arrow-logo___________________________________________________

The Punisher 2009punisherlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Green Arrow 2010 & The Punisher 2009

  1. I really like Green Arrow # 31.
    The first detail that caught my attention was Oliver being sit on a fallen statue with his head down, clearly devastated by sense of guilt.
    And then I looked under him, and I noticed a big blood stain right next to his fallen mask. This detail and the tagline “The fall of Green Arrow” help building an even more dramatic and mysterious atmosphere, so I deeply appreciated both of them.
    Another reason why I give this cover the gold medal is the amazing background. Every single detail of the church has been drawn so meticulously that you could mistake it for a photograph. I also love the fact that the stained glass windows show 3 DC characters instead of 3 saints: it’s details like this one that make the difference between a simply good cover and a real work of art.
    Special mention for GA/BC # 28, because of Black Canary’s revealing outfit. : )
    As for Frank, I pick the Annual. The Punisher and Spidey falling down from a skyscraper, bullets and webs flying all over, the eye – widening presence of Hobgoblin’s lethal pumpkins on Frank’s chest, a detailed background… not to mention the two ladies behind the quarrellers: who are they? What are they doing there? Will they play a role in the fight? They raise so many questions that I could give this cover the gold medal for their presence alone.

    • “I really like Green Arrow # 31.”
      This was the cover I made reference to as being the one that nearly grabbed first place for me. You nailed all the points of why I love it from the stained-glass to the atmosphere to the air of guilt surrounding Oliver and finally to the fallen statue. I love the added detail, which sells Oliver’s guilt even further, of him holding the point of the arrow in his hand which is causing the blood to puddle on the floor. He is punishing himself for whatever great sin he has made and it all equates to a simply stellar image.

      “As for Frank, I pick the Annual.”
      This cover earns my 3rd place award. I really enjoy how the artist depicted Spidey’s web-shots as they appear almost bullet-like and with such force and velocity that we rarely see. The mystery of those two ladies and why the Punisher has resorted to using pumpkin bombs are both enticing as well. It came so close, but my runner-up has to go to the fantastic homage cover #2 complete with a Green Goblin twist.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your choices!

      • “He is punishing himself for whatever great sin he has made and it all equates to a simply stellar image.” Green Arrow Vol. 5 # 4 is another stellar image, so it gets a hugely deserved bronze medal in my personal ranking.
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your choices!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • I agree with you and it is my bronze medalist as well. The way Green Arrow transitions into the trees almost like a spectre, the fiery backdrop, and the depiction of the Martian Manhunter are three solid reasons why.

  2. Awesome cover for Green Arrow Vol 5 #1 an epic start to this series. Really like how the cover reflects both parts of Green Arrow’s life, with the emerald archer taking centre stage on the cover. Magnificent! Punisher Vol 7 Annual #1 gets my vote this time, I like any kind of Team Up or Vs covers so this cover with Punisher and Spiderman is an instant hit for me! A brilliant retroactive and some really stunning covers to pick from!

    • We were on the same page with Green Arrow while wwayne and you were identical with the Punisher. As I mentioned to wwayne, I really enjoy how the artist depicted Spidey’s web-shots as they appear almost bullet-like and with such force and velocity that we rarely see.

      Thanks for sharing your selections and here is to the week ahead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

