Retroactive: The Flash 1993 & Uncanny X-Men 2000

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1992 and Uncanny X-Men 1999. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1993flash-logo___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 2000uncanny_xmenlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1993 & Uncanny X-Men 2000

  1. I really like UXM Annual 2000.
    First of all, it’s a watercolour, and this means that the cover artist spent a lot more time than usual to create it: the efforts he clearly made to give us this cover deserve the gold medal alone.
    Secondly, it’s a very beautiful cover from an aesthetic point of view. The contrast between cool colours and warm ones in the sky, the use of shadows on the woman’s clothes and on Charles’ head, the detailed background (look how meticulously the cover artist painted the trees, for example)… every single detail of this cover is hugely eye – pleasing.
    Thirdly, it raises a lot of questions. Who is that woman? How is she related to Professor X? Why do both of them look so sad?
    The icing on the cake are the cartridge cases next to Charles’ face. Not only because they give the cover an action packed vibe I absolutely adore, but also because they’re so out of context that they compel you to open the comic book to find out why the cover artist decided to paint them.
    I noticed that in the last weeks I picked the annual a lot of times. I remember that once I chose the LOTDK Annual for 3 consecutive weeks. I don’t know why the annual covers tend to be much better than the ones belonging to the regular series.
    The other gold medal goes to Flash # 82.
    First of all, it shows Nightwing, and his presence would make a cover awesome alone.
    Secondly, it has a lot of action packed details: a heated fight scene, raging faces, punches, smashed armors… this cover is so powerful and exciting that it makes you feel thrilled even before starting to read the issue.
    Thirdly, I love the fact that the Flash is trying to win the battle by using his brute force instead of his superpowers. It’s like when you see a western movie, and the quarrellers decide to fight with their bare hands instead of using their guns. They do that because anyone can win a gunfight (it’s just a matter of velocity and luck), but only a real warrior can survive in a duel to the death fighted by using only your hands.
    Special mention for the Annual, because the use of shadows on Flash’s chest is mind – blowing.

    • “I really like UXM Annual 2000.”
      It is a truly fantastic cover and my runner-up, a cover that I very nearly selected as my #1 pick. You summed everything up perfectly and I really enjoyed reading your analysis. Fantastic work yet again and I can’t stress enough how much it means to me for you to take the time and write up something like this.

      “I don’t know why the annual covers tend to be much better than the ones belonging to the regular series.”
      Since the Annuals tend to be more expensive than a regular issue, they pull out all the stops with the covers? Just my theory…

      “The other gold medal goes to Flash # 82.”
      I had a good feeling you’d select this one. Nightwing? A giant gun? An action-packed brawl? It hit everything on the wwayne checklist. 🙂 For me, my runner-up would be #78. “To save the city, they would have to defeat their most deadly foe…Barry Allen!” A great tagline teamed-up with a stellar image.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

      • “Since the Annuals tend to be more expensive than a regular issue, they pull out all the stops with the covers? Just my theory…” And it’s a solid one. : )
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your reply! : )

  2. Wow, Flash vol 2 #77 is a great cover, a classic confrontation between these generations of the Flash. Its a really exciting cover and makes you want to find out what’s going on! Uncanny X-Men #386 is another great clash! This time between Rogue and Storm! As you know, Rogue is one of my fave characters, so this one was a must, especially as she is battling Storm. A great retroactive edition with some incredible covers to pick from 😀

    • “Its a really exciting cover and makes you want to find out what’s going on!”
      That can be said for all the covers in this arc: #75-79. Amazing covers one and all to go with a captivating story as Wally West finally accepts himself as the Flash.

      “Uncanny X-Men #386 is another great clash!”
      It should make for an interesting clash as neither can breathe underwater. It gets me thinking of who would win in a battle between the two. Hmm….

      Thanks for providing your picks! It is much appreciated.

      • Yes, this was a great story for Wally as the Flash. I really liked this clash between Rogue and Storm, not something we’ve seen often, think they would be evenly matched, Rogue has the strength, but Storm has the raw power of the weather, be a close battle I think.

Leave a Reply

