Retroactive: Green Arrow 2011 & The Punisher 2010

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Green Arrow 2010 and The Punisher 2009. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Green Arrow 2011green_arrow-logo___________________________________________________

The Punisher 2010punisherlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

15 thoughts on “Retroactive: Green Arrow 2011 & The Punisher 2010

  1. I really like Green Arrow Vol. 6 # 2.
    First of all, it’s set in a murky blind alley, and I like this setting so much that I could give this cover the gold medal for this reason alone.
    Secondly, I love the fact that the villain’s face is not shown, and all we can see is his left arm. Probably he has an ally, because there’s another black shadow next to him.
    Thirdly, this cover has a lot of details that are really eye – pleasing for me: graffiti, Green Arrow’s costume being in shreds, the awesome lighting (especially on Oliver’s left leg)… I especially love the artistic choice of incorporating the title of the story by drawing it as a graffiti on the wall behind Green Arrow.
    The icing on the cake is the sword in Oliver’s left hand. Why is he holding it? Is he about to walk the line and use it to kill his enemies? Also, notice that he lost his bow, so that sword is the only available weapon: where did the bow end?
    As for Frank, I completely agree with the cover you chose: big muscles, countless pouches, a giant gun next to Frank’s left side, Bane – like tubes all over Frank’s body… mixing the Punisher with Frankenstein is a bad idea, but the cover artist made the most of it and used it to create a definitely good cover.
    Special mention for Punisher # 15: a cover showing all those bullets flying all over will always get a medal in my personal ranking. : )
    Did you think about the Punisher’s replacement? I know that only series that are south of 300 issues will qualify, so I had 2 ideas:
    – Generation X;
    – a Spider – series (on Marvel Wikia I found 4 series that lasted less than 150 issues).
    Of course you can choose neither of the two and follow a third path, and I won’t get angry at all: it was a simple suggestion. : )

    • “I really like Green Arrow Vol. 6 # 2.”
      A cover that contained all the wwayne staples! Your write-up was spot on though I wanted to mention that upon closer inspection that sword actually is his bow. When you enlarge the image you can make out the cord of the bow and by looking at #1 you realize that it is the same bow with the more bladelike design on either side of the middle section. For me, my other covers in my Top 2 were #7’s ghostly and haunting image and #8’s simplistic yet epic image.

      “As for Frank, I completely agree with the cover you chose: big muscles, countless pouches, a giant gun next to Frank’s left side, Bane – like tubes all over Frank’s body… mixing the Punisher with Frankenstein is a bad idea, but the cover artist made the most of it and used it to create a definitely good cover.”
      I have no clue what they were thinking here. Crazy Marvel decision… If I had to pick a runner-up I guess I’d go for the same one as you but all in all the entire concept is so off-putting that I couldn’t wait for this era of Punisher covers to end. Thank god it was only one year!

      “Did you think about the Punisher’s replacement? I know that only series that are south of 300 issues will qualify, so I had 2 ideas:
      – Generation X;
      – a Spider – series (on Marvel Wikia I found 4 series that lasted less than 150 issues).”
      Funny you mention that as a Spider-Title is definitely what I was considering. Which one is undecided though I’m possibly leaning towards the Ultimate Spider-Man series. I then thought after that I would focus on the Punisher: War Journal series. We’d get a break from Punisher and then cover the other big series of his after. My main conundrum is actually Green Arrow’s replacement as I want to avoid a Batman character title (like Nightwing and Robin) as I already have one Retroactive that will always be Batman-centric and they will slide in there. I’m really puzzled to what I should do. Any suggestions?

      Thanks, as always, for providing your choices!

      • “For me, my other covers in my Top 2 were #7’s ghostly and haunting image and #8’s simplistic yet epic image.” My silver medal goes to Green Arrow Vol. 5 # 6, and my bronze one goes to Green Arrow Vol. 5 # 7. I’m really sad that a stellar image like Green Arrow Vol. 5 # 9 didn’t get any medal in my personal ranking.
        “Any suggestions?” The 90 % of the DC comics I love are Batman – centric, so I’m not the right man for this question, but the first one that comes to my mind is Teen Titans Vol. 3 (101 issues from 2003 to 2011).
        Animal Man (89 issues for the Volume 1, 30 issues for the Volume 2) would be another good choice, because it would mitigate our nostalgia now that Lemire’s series is ended.
        To change the subject, my publishing house decided to translate our best seller novel in english, and to sell it in all the english speaking countries. I will be the one who translates it. : )
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your choices!” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your reply! : )

        • I love your suggestion of Teen Titans. All the various volumes just slide under my 300 issue max limit. It also features quite a varied cast of characters that I have a deep fondness for. Thanks. Teen Titans it is! It will team-up quite well with Ultimate Spider-Man as well. 🙂

          “To change the subject, my publishing house decided to translate our best seller novel in english, and to sell it in all the english speaking countries. I will be the one who translates it.”
          Wow! Congratulations. Sounds like you are really moving up in the world. How long are they giving you to translate the entire book? How many pages?

  2. I really like Green Arrow Vol 5 #15 featuring Green Arrow and Swamp Thing, great cover, as Swamp Thing is looming over GA, a really creepy and spooky cover. Punisher Vol 7 #12 gets my vote this time, these Frankencastle covers are really good, and I really like this one with Punisher surrounded by some of Marvel’s great undead characters. What a brilliant cover 😀

    • “I really like Green Arrow Vol 5 #12 featuring Green Arrow and Swamp Thing, great cover, as Swamp Thing is looming over GA, a really creepy and spooky cover.”
      I really like the use of shadows on Swampy and the tease that the secret of the forest will be revealed.

      “Punisher Vol 7 #12 gets my vote this time, these Frankencastle covers are really good, and I really like this one with Punisher surrounded by some of Marvel’s great undead characters.”
      This cover would earn my bronze medal even though I’m really not a fan of what they made Frank into. FrankenCastle? This really should have been Marvel’s equivalent of an Elseworld tale not in his ongoing…

Leave a Reply

