Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2004 & Daredevil 2003

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 2003 and Daredevil 2002. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2004legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2003daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2004 & Daredevil 2003

  1. Daredevil # 52 blew my mind.
    First of all, the supporting character is in the foreground, and the leading one is in the background: as you know, I deeply appreciate this reversal of the most typical pattern of superhero covers.
    Secondly, I love the fact that Echo’s half – closed eyes are looking directly at us. This artistic choice helps building a strong emotional connection between her and us, even if we’re supposed to support Daredevil in the fight she’s running against him.
    Thirdly, I love the fact that the cover artist decided to underline the contrast between these two character in so many clever ways:
    – Echo exhales yellow smoke, Daredevil exhales purple smoke;
    – she’s been depicted in a frontal pose, Matt’s been drawn in a three – quarter pose;
    – she’s looking at us, our hero is looking in a completely different direction.
    All these delightfully subtle details want to convey the message that these two characters are getting more and more different and distant from each other. Instead of making that clear in the most expected way (for example, with an image showing Echo that throws punches at her former lover), the cover artist decided to convey this message in a much more subtle and fascinating way, and I deeply appreciated that.
    As for Batman, I completely agree with the cover you chose. Even this time I instantly understood this image would have won the gold medal, even if I hadn’t seen the other covers yet.
    Special mention for LOTDK # 183, because of the marvellous lighting on Bruce’s cape and mantle.

    • “All these delightfully subtle details want to convey the message that these two characters are getting more and more different and distant from each other. Instead of making that clear in the most expected way (for example, with an image showing Echo that throws punches at her former lover), the cover artist decided to convey this message in a much more subtle and fascinating way, and I deeply appreciated that.”
      There are some weeks that you completely blow me away with your thinking. You brought up all these points that hadn’t even occurred to me and made what was already a beautiful cover that much richer. Originally I was going to give my silver medal to another cover entirely but after reading your comment I cannot in good conscience not award the runner up to anything but #52. You changed my mind with your words and that is a very powerful ability indeed.

      “Special mention for LOTDK # 183, because of the marvellous lighting on Bruce’s cape and mantle.”
      And I would direct special attention to #177 which is both my runner-up and Paul Bowler’s #1 pick.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and the insight. 🙂

  2. Legends of the Dark Knight #177 gets my top spot this time. I’m always drawn to covers like this, the stark white background of the cover is in striking contrast to Batman perched atop the telephone pole, his form a dark shadow and with his cape billowing in the wind. A simple cover in design, conveying so much with so little color, its superb. I’m in complete agreement with you for Daredevil Vol. 2 #43 with DD standing before the candles, head bowed. You are so right when you say the candles seem to represent the city itself, with Daredevil watching over everyone, a beautiful cover.

    • “Legends of the Dark Knight #177 gets my top spot this time.”
      I came ever so close to selecting this as my favourite but in the end it had to settle with second place for me. It is a striking image that uses a limited colouring scheme to great effect.

      Thanks for providing your choices. It is much appreciated. And I hope you have a great New Comic Book Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

