Retroactive: Green Arrow 2012 & The Punisher 2011

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Green Arrow 2011 and The Punisher 2010. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Green Arrow 2012green_arrow-logo___________________________________________________

The Punisher 2011punisherlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Green Arrow 2012 & The Punisher 2011

  1. I really like Punisher # 2.
    The first thing that caught my attention was Frank trying to kill a crook being right under his feet: the lighting on his body, the giant guns he’s holding and the gorgeously coloured fire they’re erupting are so eye – pleasing that I could give this cover the gold medal for these details alone.
    Secondly, I love the fact that the crook, instead of panicking, is trying to kill the Punisher as well, without showing any sign of fear. His courage and the fact that he’s very close to his target makes us understand that this time staying alive won’t be that easy for Frank.
    And then you look at the background, and you realize that the situation is even more dangerous, because there’s another crook shooting in Frank’s direction from a car speeding by.
    Also, if you look in the other direction, you can see a yellow car being about to overturn, and an explosion right behind that yellow car. This cover is so full of action packed details that, each time I take a look at it, I find something that had passed me by until then.
    As for Oliver, I completely agree with the cover you chose. A heated fight scene, a villain with giant muscles and a raging face, a smashed building with pieces of bricks flying all over, a red background, an enticing tagline… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    Special mention for Green Arrow # 9, because it gives us a showdown in the wild west vibe. I also love Oliver’s raging face and the artistic choice of not showing the face of the villain.

    • “I really like Punisher # 2.”
      This action-packed scene playing out on the roads is indeed fantastic and earns my runner-up award. My main question is if that yellow car contained more crooks or was just a casualty of the collateral damage from Punisher’s particular brand of road rage?

      “Special mention for Green Arrow # 9, because it gives us a showdown in the wild west vibe.”
      And my runner up goes to GA #0. I love the simply yet effective image of Oliver bursting through the cover and unleashing shot after shot.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your terrific analysis.

      • “My main question is if that yellow car contained more crooks or was just a casualty of the collateral damage from Punisher’s particular brand of road rage?” I think it contained more crooks. In Marvel and DC comic books innocent people are never put in danger, unless it’s strictly necessary for the plot.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your terrific analysis.” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your reply! : )

  2. I really like the covers you’ve chosen here as well. Green Arrow Vol. 6 #5 is very exciting, with Green Arrow battling some kind of lumbering monsters, makes you wonder how on Earth he’s going to get out of this tight spot! Likewise, Punisher Vol 8 #4, with Punisher falling towards the criminals, baseball bat at the ready, is equally exciting. Both covers are really intense and full of action, especially the Punisher cover. In fact, the more Punisher covers I see in this Retroactive feature, the more I kinda wish they would make a Punisher TV series, just like they have with Arrow, think a Punisher TV show would be awesome!

    • “In fact, the more Punisher covers I see in this Retroactive feature, the more I kinda wish they would make a Punisher TV series, just like they have with Arrow, think a Punisher TV show would be awesome!”
      I think it would be so awesome to have him guest star on the Daredevil Netflix series for an episode or two and then spin him off into his own show from there. Punisher on TV would work quite well. 🙂

      Also, thanks for providing your choices. We were in perfect synchronicity with this edition.

Leave a Reply

