Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2005 & Daredevil 2004

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 2004 and Daredevil 2003. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2005legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2004daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

9 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2005 & Daredevil 2004

  1. These Daredevil books were my education in comic telling and art. The time I transitioned from a young reader to an adult who saw their worth as an adult. Just breathtaking work

  2. I really like Daredevil # 62.
    First of all, our hero is under the pouring rain: as you know, rainy covers have a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    Secondly, Matt looks very threatening in this image. He’s drawing his chin to his chest, the muscles of his shoulders are very tense, his hands are gripping the cornice very tightly… every single detail of his body language reveal that his rage is about to explode.
    Thirdly, the background is simply awesome. I especially love how the yellow of the clock matches with the red of Matt’s costume.
    Special mention for Daredevil # 66: the eye – widening presence of Matt’s yellow costume, the fog behind him and the amazing background led this cover very, very close to the first prize.
    The other gold medal goes to LOTDK # 196.
    Even in this case there’s an atmospheric detail I absolutely adore: snow.
    Secondly, the composition is extraordinary. I love how the cover artist matched Bruce’s and Mr. Freeze’s bodies, with the wire of the villain’s weapon dangerously encircling Batman’s right leg. I also love his large mantle and the countless pouches all around his chest.
    Thirdly, even in this case we have an awesome background. I especially like the frozen windows, because they help creating an even more Christmas – y atmosphere.
    Special mention for LOTDK # 186: that tattoo on the Joker’s neck is so enticing and question – raising that it deserves a medal alone. Also, any cover foreshadowing the Riddler’s presence has a big chance to win a prize in my personal ranking.
    My bronze medalist is LOTDK # 194, because of its wonderful atmosphere.

    • “I really like Daredevil # 62.”
      As I mentioned with my choice I had two other covers that I nearly selected with this one being one of them. It is a simply awesome image for the very reasons you provided. My 3rd Place cover would be #57. An eye-catching cover featuring Murdock and a sword. I love how it limited itself to using only three colours (black, red, and white) as well. Just missing out on the podium is that sultry cover starring Black Widow (#63).

      “The other gold medal goes to LOTDK # 196.”
      It is certainly an intriguing cover as it appears Batman has swung and knocked Mr. Freeze right off the building! What did he hope to accomplish? How can the villain survive the fall? Will Batman save his life? For me, my runner-up goes to #193. I really enjoy that image of Batman staring through the window only to be greeted by a tiny snow globe.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!

      • “My 3rd Place cover would be #57.” And mine is # 55, because of its remarkable aesthetic value. Daredevil # 65 got very close to the bronze medal, because fire escapes are hugely eye – pleasing for me.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

  3. Legends of the Dark Knight #192 is a brilliant cover, with Batman swooping down from a rooftop, as the snow falls around him. That icy blue sky above the skyline, the way the snow is seemingly oversized, seemingly frozen and suspended in mid-air, as Batman’s cape splays outwards. Its a classic pose and really good snow scene as well. Daredevil vol 2 #57 is stunning, another white4 background, this time with Matt brandishing a sword, his stance full of menace, and with the brilliant uses of the lettering blending into Matt’s frame, this image is brilliant. These Daredevil covers are some of the best ever!

    • “Legends of the Dark Knight #192 is a brilliant cover, with Batman swooping down from a rooftop, as the snow falls around him.”
      This cover earns my bronze medal. It is a beautiful and almost serene image

      “Daredevil vol 2 #57 is stunning, another white4 background, this time with Matt brandishing a sword, his stance full of menace, and with the brilliant uses of the lettering blending into Matt’s frame, this image is brilliant.”
      And this was also my bronze medalist. I look at that cover and want to find out more.

      “These Daredevil covers are some of the best ever!”
      It was quite a group to choose from. Made my time difficult but when the difficulty resides in determining which image is more beautiful than the other I call that a difficulty I can live with. 🙂

      Thanks for providing your picks!

Leave a Reply

