Between The Continuity – The New Schedule, Retroactive Announcements, & Covers of the Month

Icon

There is quite a lot I want to cover this week but on the last edition of Between The Continuity I revealed that The Speech Bubble was going to be getting a new schedule so let’s tackle that topic first:

Monday:
Between The Continuity: I’ll discuss any Blog-related news and highlight the week that was in postings.

Tuesday:
Retroactive I: I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past. Each week I’ll display all the covers for a single year for two titles with my current focus being on The Flash and Uncanny X-Men.

Wednesday:
Covers of the Month: More on this feature will be detailed further below. (NEW FEATURE)
Retroactive – The Independents: More on this feature will be detailed further below as well. (NEW FEATURE)

Thursday:
Retroactive II: I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past. Each week I’ll display all the covers for a single year for two titles with my current focus being on Green Arrow and the Punisher.

Friday:
The Comic-Verse: 
Not only will you find links to the very best comic-related postings from each of my favourite fellow WordPress bloggers but you’ll also be treated to art from one talented individual. It is all about spreading the word while also honoring those people who tirelessly work away on blogs of their very own.
Covers of the Week: I’ll list my Top 5 favourite covers of the week. (Previously on Sunday)

Saturday:
On The Radar:I’ll highlight the coming Wednesday’s new comics that I’m most looking forward to. (Previously on Sunday)

Sunday:
Retroactive III: I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past. Each week I’ll display all the covers for a single year for two titles with my current focus being on Legends of the Dark Knight and Daredevil. (Previously on Saturday)

Weekly Features:
The following features will come out once a week but can take place on any day:
Off The Shelf: I made a vow: every week I’ll pick up an issue for a series that wasn’t on my pull-list in the hopes of finding a hidden gem. Here is where we’ll see if my leap of faith paid dividends as I review my latest find.
The Top 5 Comic Countdown: I’ll list and discuss my Top 5 comics from the week that was.
Going Rogue: A weekly series taking a look at various comic book villains. I’ll mention a little bit about their history, share some art, but mostly relate my personal thoughts and feelings about the characters.

Monthly Features:
Right now these features will be on hiatus as I get my other areas on track. Hopefully this will include the return of some old features and the debuts of some new ones. More to follow as the months go by.

And that wraps up the new schedule. As with everything on The Speech Bubble it will be refined and improved as the weeks go on as I see what works and what doesn’t. Next up, I want to talk about the Retroactive feature:

Retroactive I: Currently I’m highlighting Flash and Uncanny X-Men. Looking ahead, I’ve chosen the Flash’s successor to be Green Lantern but as for Uncanny X-Men’s successor I am undecided. The one thing I do know is that I want it to be a Marvel team book. Does that mean X-Men, Fantastic Four, the Avengers, or something else entirely? Any suggestions would be a big help.

Retroactive II: Currently I’m highlighting Green Arrow and the Punisher but both of those series are ending this week. Keeping in mind that this Retroactive focusses on titles with less than 300 issues total across all their volumes, I’ve chosen Green Arrow’s successor to be Teen Titans and the Punisher’s successor to be Ultimate Spider-Man.

Retroactive III: Currently I’m highlighting Legends of the Dark Knight and Daredevil. Looking ahead, I’ve chosen LOTDK’s successor to be Shadow of the Bat with Nightwing following close behind. As for Daredevil’s successor I am once again undecided. It still has a way to go before I make any decisions but any suggestions would be a big help. I’m definitely looking for a Marvel title over 300 issues though.

Retroactive – The Independents: So this new Retroactive came about because I really wanted to highlight some non-DC and non-Marvel series. The format may be a little different but classic elements from Retroactive will still be found. The first two franchises (not series) will be Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Hellboy & the B.P.R.D.. Look for this new Retroactive coming soon!

Last but not least, I want to cover…Covers of the Month. Last week saw the return of my weekly Covers of the Week feature with 08/13/14’s edition coming in the next day or two. The last time I did one of these was way back in December. Taking in mind of this big break, I’ve decided to backtrack each week and offer a look at the best Covers of the Months starting in December and ending in July. Each week I will post a feature covering all the best from each month, breaking it down by week and then best of the overall month. I will probably only write descriptive passages for the best cover of each week though.

Whew. So that wraps up everything I wanted to cover. On a side note, following up on last week’s Reddit watch, I’m happy to reveal that after posting the latest edition of Retroactive starring Legends of the Dark Knight and Daredevil I once again set a new single day record eclipsing the previous one by 25%. What this means is 18 days in and August is already my best month ever. Thank you everyone…and thank you Reddit.

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 1994 & Uncanny X-Men 2001
The Widow On Her Throne, Mega Blow-Out, & Beware What Lurks In The Shadows: Comic Book Covers of the Week 08/06/14
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (08/09/14-08/14/14)
Retroactive: Green Arrow 2012 & The Punisher 2011
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 08/20/14
Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2005 & Daredevil 2004
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadWhat the future holds is a mystery at this juncture…
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

 

7 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – The New Schedule, Retroactive Announcements, & Covers of the Month

  1. I’m really glad that you decided to create a new Retroactive feature. Later on you could cover some other indie series, like Spawn and Witchblade. For most of the time the covers of these two series have been drawn by awesome artists like Todd McFarlane, Greg Capullo, Marc Silvestri… I think that Spawn and Witchblade would be great replacements for TMNT and Hellboy once they are ended.
    As usual, don’t feel obliged to follow my advice: it’s your blog, so you’re the only one who takes decisions. Long live to Retroactive the 4th! : )

    • I’m happy to hear you are excited. Spawn and Witchblade were both high on my radar for replacements as they have quite a legacy to them as well. But first things first, we kick off TMNT and Hellboy this coming week!

  2. P.S.: For UXM’s successor my vote goes to X – Men.
    As for Daredevil’s successor, as far as I know the only titles that count more than 300 issues and aren’t team books are Captain America, Hulk and Thor.

    • I have X-Men from you and X-Factor from Paul. Going to be a tough one for sure. As for Daredevil’s successor I have to do a lot of pondering but the good thing is that is farthest away from wrapping up. Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂

  3. Perhaps X-Factor would be a good successor to Uncanny X-Men for the Retroactive feature. The Defenders would be good too, or how about The Micronauts? Daredevil has been a great mix of Retroactive covers, how about Ghost Rider, or Peter Parker the Spectacular Spiderman for this slot? Great new line up of features, will look forward to them all 😀

    • I really like your suggestion of X-Factor. With wwayne chiming in with X-Men I’ll have to weigh the pros and cons of each. As for Daredevil’s successor I really wanted a plus 300 series but I may break my rule. Thanks for the suggestions and I’m happy you approve of the new line-up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

