Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2006 & Daredevil 2005

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Legends of the Dark Knight 2005 and Daredevil 2004. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2006legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2005daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2006 & Daredevil 2005

  1. I really like Legends of the Dark Knight #207 as well, seeing how it features Bruce Wayne holding the lantern aloft, the glow causing the Dark Knights shadow to appear behind him. Its when we look at the box and glimpse the woman’s severed finger inside that it sends a shiver up the spine. Its a gruesome package that Bruce has opened and I’m sure he will stop at nothing to find the woman who has been kidnaped.A great cover! Daredevil vol 2 #76 gets my vote this time, one of the stunning Murdock papers covers, its so detailed, and I love how the art and panel layout conveys the complex plot of the story. Another great cover 😀

    • “I really like Legends of the Dark Knight #207 as well, seeing how it features Bruce Wayne holding the lantern aloft, the glow causing the Dark Knights shadow to appear behind him.”
      When I first saw this cover I quickly glanced at it and thought he was holding Alan Scott’s Green Lantern with the hero’s green ring finger in the box. After closer inspection I realized my error but my mistake is what initially grabbed me.

      “Daredevil vol 2 #76 gets my vote this time, one of the stunning Murdock papers covers, its so detailed, and I love how the art and panel layout conveys the complex plot of the story.”
      Those trilogy of covers featuring the Murdock Papers are all awesome indeed!

      Thanks for providing your picks. It is much appreciated. 🙂

  2. As you know, I’m a big fan of pulp magazines (and I regularly buy the italian ones, Skorpio and Lanciostory), so the cover you chose got very close to the gold medal… but at the end I decided to pick Daredevil # 77.
    First of all, we have something unusual here. 9 times out of 10 we get a “superhero vs villain” scene or a “superhero all alone” image: in this case the cover artist decided to follow a completely different path, because the superhero isn’t even shown, and all the attention is focused on his former lovers. This cover makes you wonder why the writer decided to make them appear all in the same issue and which role each of them is going to play, so it is very effective.
    Secondly, there is a flaming sky, and a cover showing such an eye – pleasing detail has a big chance to get the gold medal in my personal ranking.
    Thirdly, I love that typewriter right under the title. The only person using that in Daredevil’s world is Ben Urich, so it is a delightfully subtle way to suggest that he’s going to play a key role in this issue.
    As for Bruce, I pick LOTDK # 197.
    First of all, I love the layers on this cover: first we have a crook being armed to the teeth, then we go back further and we notice the goddess of justice, then we go back even further and we see Batman.
    Secondly, I do appreciate the question – raising artistic choice of depicting both the crook and the goddess of justice in a pose that reminds of Jesus Christ.
    Thirdly, the buildings in the background are very detailed, and the flaming sky upon them definitely is the icing on the cake.

    • “As you know, I’m a big fan of pulp magazines (and I regularly buy the italian ones, Skorpio and Lanciostory), so the cover you chose got very close to the gold medal… but at the end I decided to pick Daredevil # 77.”
      I thought for sure that we would be in agreement this week. #77 would have been my second prediction for you just as it is my silver medalist. I love how Elektra’s outfit blends into the red sky, the use of shadows, and the aforementioned intrigue of why all these women are so prominently featured on one cover. Will these Murdock Papers highlight Matt’s complicated love life? All in all, I really enjoy the entire set of these Murdock Paper covers with #78 earning my 3rd Place award. I love how it highlights the villains while that skull with the devil horns is creepy and brilliant at the same time.

      “Secondly, I do appreciate the question – raising artistic choice of depicting both the crook and the goddess of justice in a pose that reminds of Jesus Christ.”
      With the way this cover is structured it really leads me to the belief that this character could be DC’s attempt at the Punisher, someone who believes what they are doing is just while others view it as criminal. For me, my runner-up would be #210’s gorgeous cover featuring the Dark Knight bathed in moonlight, lowering a women into the water. It is almost like a twisted take on a romance cover and one that intrigues me as I try to figure out this woman’s connection to Batman and how he potentially failed her.

      Thanks, as always, for providing your choices and offering your analysis!

      • “For me, my runner-up would be #210’s gorgeous cover featuring the Dark Knight bathed in moonlight, lowering a women into the water.” I agree that LOTDK # 210 is awesome… but my bronze medal goes to LOTDK # 198.
        LOTDK # 206 got very, very close to the 3rd prize. At the end I decided to leave it out of the podium, because it doesn’t give us any clue about the content of the issue.
        “Thanks, as always, for providing your choices and offering your analysis!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

