Between The Continuity – Turtle Power & Going To Hell

Icon

As I mentioned last week, the 4th Retroactive is coming, a Retroactive which will focus on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and the Hellboy & the B.P.R.D. franchises. You read that right: franchises not one series. I’m going to be covering all the various major titles of each property as we journey from their first issues to the here and now. I thought I’d use this edition of Between The Continuity to act as a primer, to share my personal experiences with each one before we hit the road running:

TMNT

Those four heroes in a half shell have been with me for the majority of my life. The original live-action movie was the very first film I ever saw in the theatres, their original cartoon was a staple in my house, and I still look back fondly to the birthday that I shockingly received almost the entire line of the initial wave of action figures, a collection that would continue to grow from there. Add that to some frustratingly difficult and otherwise awesome video games (Turtles In Time), two more movies, a live-action TV show and you see how they shaped my childhood. In fact, part of the reason I love pizza so much can be attributed to the Turtles as well. Their special place in my heart continued to grow as I grew up including new versions on television and an animated movie but it wasn’t until IDW launched their TMNT series that I read my first ever Turtle comic. Surprising considering this is how they made their start. All in all, I’m proud to say I’ll be a Turtle fan until the day I die!

Hellboy & The B.P.R.D.

My first experience with Mike Mignola’s epic creation (like many others I’m sure) was the live-action movie. I enjoyed it immensely and continued to enjoy it through the sequel and two animated movies. Still I had never picked-up a comic of the franchise until Chapters had an online sale for the Hellboy Library Collection: Volume 1. After reading that initial hardcover collection I was hooked on the moody art, the terrific tales, and the fantastic characters. I bought all the subsequent Library Collections and then I discovered that there was a spinoff series starring the B.P.R.D. Well, I had to have those as well and thus my collection rapidly grew. Now if only that third movie would be made…

So those are my memories, I’d love to hear everyone else’s!

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 1995 & Uncanny X-Men 2002
Triumphant Farewells, A World At War, and The Dead Call Out: Comic Book Covers of the Week 08/13/14
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (08/15/14-08/22/14)
Retroactive: Green Arrow 2013 & The Punisher 2012
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 08/27/14
Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2006 & Daredevil 2005
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadDid you hear that a 4th Retroactive is coming?
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

6 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Turtle Power & Going To Hell

  1. When I was a kid I deeply loved the Ninja Turtles as well. I watched every single episode of the cartoon countless times, and my favorite turtle was Raphael, because he had the same name of my father. Yours is Donatello, if my memory does not fail me.
    I also loved Splinter, because the “wise old man” is one of my favorite kind of characters. For example, one of my favorite Daredevil characters is Stick, the man who taught Matt how to become a fighter despite being blind.
    As for Hellboy, I do not have any experience with this character. When I was a high school student my classmates were mad about Hellboy’s first movie, so I wanted to see it, but, when I decided to do so, it had already disappeared from the theaters. Now I may catch up because of your good word. : )

    • “Yours is Donatello, if my memory does not fail me.”
      Yes indeed! I forget if I mentioned this before but I even dressed up like Donatello for one Halloween when I was younger.

      “I also loved Splinter, because the “wise old man” is one of my favorite kind of characters. For example, one of my favorite Daredevil characters is Stick, the man who taught Matt how to become a fighter despite being blind.”
      I just watched the Turtles Forever documentary and Eastman and Laird revealed that a big inspiration for the Turtles was Frank Miller’s Daredevil. They even admitted that Splinter was their version of Stick!

      “Now I may catch up because of your good word.”
      Awesome! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your experiences.

      • “I forget if I mentioned this before but I even dressed up like Donatello for one Halloween when I was younger.” Great choice! : )
        “They even admitted that Splinter was their version of Stick!” I didn’t know that! I must see that documentary as soon as possible.
        “Thanks for sharing your experiences.” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

Leave a Reply

