Retroactive: Teen Titans 1965/1966 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2000

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1965/1966
teentitanslogo
___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2000ultimatespidermanlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1965/1966 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2000

  1. I really like Teen Titans # 4.
    Speedy is shooting some flaming arrows towards his teammates: this act is so question – raising that I could give this cover the gold medal for this reason alone.
    And then you give Speedy a closer look, and you realize that he’s blindfolded. This detail raises another very interesting question: who put that blindfold upon his eyes and why?
    Thirdly, I love the fact that the scene is taking place in an olympic stadium. It’s another odd detail that makes this cover even more eye – widening and enticing.
    Now that I think about it, this could be the key to the puzzle: maybe Speedy thinks he’s competing for an olympic game, and he doesn’t know that by shooting those arrows he’s putting his teammates in serious danger.
    If my prediction is right, I can’t understand why the Teen Titans aren’t shouting “Stop!” to him. Maybe they’re so panic – stricken that they didn’t realize how easily they could save their lives.
    As for Spidey, you know how much I appreciate detailed backgrounds, so I completely agree with the cover you chose.

    • Teen Titans #4 was my runner-up for the very reasons you provided. In fact, I actually came so close to picking it that I started writing the paragraph with it in mind. I switched it last moment and started over but I am happy to see its brilliance recognized by someone else. 🙂

      As for USM, no shocker here that we are the same. We did have a 50/50 chance after all…

      Thanks for sharing your selections and for your sensational analysis!

  2. Well, great Teen Titans covers here, things I will have to go for no #1 thought, a nice classic cover to start the run. I really like the cover of Ultimate Spiderman #1 as well, great image of Spidey swinging through the city.

Leave a Reply

