Retroactive: TMNT 1984 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1993/1994

retroactive

In this Retroactive edition I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular franchise with each entry covering an entire year of all the major related titles. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each franchise. Below you’ll find the two franchises that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that franchise. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1984
tmntlogo
___________________________________________________

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1993/1994
Hellboylogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: TMNT 1984 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1993/1994

  1. I really like John Byrne’s Next Men # 21.
    First of all, the leading character is in the background instead of being in the foreground, which is something quite unusual and even rarer for a debut cover.
    Secondly, I love the artistic choice of showing Hellboy partially swathed in shadows, because it makes us feel even more curious about him. We’re compelled to open the book up for answers not only because we’ve never seen him before, but also because this image doesn’t tell us much about his physical appearance.
    Thirdly, I love the setting. The details that struck me are:
    – A gorgeous sky coloured with 2 different tones of purple;
    – The murky building the scene is taking place in;
    – The question – raising presence of small pieces of bricks falling all around Hellboy;
    – The ominous presence of some skulls;
    – The green water the boy is partially immersed in.
    As you can see, I listed SEVEN reasons why this cover deserves the gold medal, so I give it the 1st prize without the shadows of a doubt.
    As for the Turtles, I completely agree with the cover you chose.

    • “I really like John Byrne’s Next Men # 21.”
      I am right there with you on this one. I mentioned that I had a terribly difficult time narrowing down my #1 pick and this cover and Seeds of Destruction #3 were the major reasons. This cover is great as it also deceives us into believing that Hellboy is the villain of the piece. If we knew nothing about him that is our immediate gut reaction. S.O.D. #3 on the other hand is excellent as we have our hero lying on the ground helpless, the villainous Rasputin looking ready to go in for the kill, while a immense and detailed creature consumes the background.

      “As for the Turtles, I completely agree with the cover you chose.”
      I thought you would. 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your awesome analysis.

  2. Great to see the Ninja Turtles in a Retroactive feature. Never really followed their comics much, but these all look great. Have to go with TMNT #1 great image with all of them on the cover liked that on the rooftop! Helboy Seeds of Destruction #1 is awesome, this is still one of my fave Hellboy storylines, so had to go for this one!

Leave a Reply

