Between The Continuity – Celebrating 800 Features & Counting

Icon

It is hard to imagine but here we are at the 800th Posting on The Speech Bubble. As I customarily do on all these anniversary postings, I first want to thank everyone who supports, comments, and generally takes the time out of their busy schedules to check the site out. It is much appreciated!

Now last week I teased that Between The Continuity would be getting a facelift and here we are. I wanted to expand the feature from its barebones format to something with a little more variety. You’ll notice a lot of features from features past including #Trending and Around The Web. While this week unveils the basic framework it won’t be until the next edition that said framework will be fully filled.

In other news, I’m proud to say that I’ve been nominated for another two Liebster Awards. To refresh everyone, it is an award created by bloggers to honor other bloggers while helping grow said winner’s fan base in the process. Accepting the Award also causes the recipient to abide by 7 Rules.

Rule #1: Post the award on your blog. Image

Rule #2: Thank the blogger(s) who presented this award and link back to their blog.
These are the two awesome individuals who bestowed the honor onto me:
What Killed The Dinosaurs: http://whatkilledthedinosaurs.wordpress.com/
healed137: http://healed1337.wordpress.com/
Thanks one and all!

Rule #3: Share 11 random facts about yourself.
1. My favourite Final Fantasy game is #9.
2. Every Friday is Pasta Friday at my house.
3. The first DVD series I ever bought was Buffy The Vampire Slayer.
4. I sold an area rug to actress Amanda Tapping.
5. My first ever Halloween costume was a ghost.
6. I was a hyena in my elementary school’s play of the Lion King.
7. The first villain I ever hated in a video game was the dog from Duck Hunt.
8. I have a compulsion to completely watch a TV series despite the fact that it gets worse and worse if I make it past the third episode.
9. The first car I ever drove was a Toyota Echo.
10. I do not enjoy public speaking at all.
11. My first ever instrument I played was the recorder. I was never any good…

Rule #4: Answer the Liebster questions given by the person who nominated you.

What Killed The Dinosaurs’
1. If you could choose your accent, what accent would you have? British.
2. What is your favourite meat, and why? Pork. It just tastes awesome. Do I need a better reason than that?
3. If you could cast a Patronus, what animal would it be and why? A wolf because I always found them fascinating.
4. What was the first film you saw at the cinema, and what were your memories of it? The original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. My memories: epic action and great humor wrapped in Turtle awesomeness. The actor who played Shredder was fantastic and Master Splinter was a real standout. I couldn’t believe I was seeing the Turtles spring to life in live-action!
5. If you could only drink one drink for the rest of your life, what would it be? Milk.
6. If you could have a superpower for one day only, what would it be and what would you do? The power of super-flight so I could travel around the world and see all the sights.
7. If you had to live one day of your life over and over again, which day would it be? The day I got married. Hasn’t happened yet but I’d go with that one.
8. If you could transport yourself into any fictional world (it can be any book, TV, film, comic book, YouTube video umm… blog? yeah), what world would it be and why? I’d travel to Gotham City because…Batman obviously.
9. If you had to live your life in only one colour (that is you have to wear only that colour, paint your walls that colour, everything you own will be that colour), what colour would it be and why? (you can have variations of shade in said colour) Blue because I really like the colour in general.
10. What is the strangest human encounter you have ever had? Nothing comes to mind…
11. What was your favourite album 5 years ago and what is your favourite album now? I don’t really listen to too much music so I can’t answer.

healed137’s
1. Why did you decide to blog in the first place? I wanted to share my love of comics with like-minded individuals.
2. Name three of your pastimes or hobbies. Comics, Video Games, and Writing. Coincidentally they are the same answers healed137 gave.
3. If you could interview anyone (dead or alive), who would it be and why? Stan Lee in order to learn from the master.
4. Do you have any pets? If not, what would you consider getting? Not anymore but I’d love another dog one of these days.
5. What is your favorite movie and why? That is too difficult for me to answer…
6. What is your favorite comic book and why? (If you don’t read comics, just name a favorite book). Batman: The Long Halloween. It is what got me obsessed with comics to begin with.
7. What is your favorite YouTube channel? I don’t have one.
8. If you could cosplay as any character, who would it be and why? Batman because he is my favourite comic character and I love the suit and cape.
9. What is your favorite topic to write about? Comics.
10. What’s your favorite fandom? Comics.

Rule #5: Nominate 10 bloggers who you feel deserve this award.
Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men – http://kevinreviewsuncannyxmen.com/
Nothing But Comics! –
http://nothingbutcomics.wordpress.com/
The Rhodes Review –
http://stephenwrhodes.com/
The Telltale Mind – http://thetelltalemind.com/
Sidekick Reviews –
http://sidekickreviews.wordpress.com/
House of Flying Scapels –
http://houseofflyingscalpels.com/
Sci-Fi Jubilee –
http://scifijubilee.wordpress.com/
Arousing Grammar –
http://arousinggrammar.com/
Modern Mythologies –
http://modernmythologies.com/
WWayne –
http://wwayne.wordpress.com/

Rule #6: Ask your nominees 10 questions.
1. Avengers or the Justice League: which group is the best?
2. What coloured Lantern Corps do you think you’ll fit right in with and which one would you want to be a part of?
3. What is your favourite Transformer character of all-time?
4. If you could re-do a movie and direct it yourself, what would it be and why?
5. If you could travel back in time, what event would you like to witness for yourself?
6. What is your dream automobile?
7. PC or Mac?
8. If you could move one DC character to Marvel and one Marvel character to DC, who would they be and why?
9. Which video game character is your favourite of all time?
10. If you could only watch one TV series over and over again, what would it be?

Rule #7: Notify your nominees of said nomination.

And on that note, that pretty much wraps things up. The march to 1000 begins now, next stop #900!

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 1997 & Uncanny X-Men 2004
Retroactive: TMNT 1984 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1995/1996
Death’s Doorway, Super Science, and LA Troubles: Comic Book Covers of the Week 09/10/14
________________________________________________________video-clip

This is where (next week) you’ll find any hot comic-based clips/trailers from the week that was including fan films.
________________________________________________________twitter-logo

This is where (next week) you’ll find the very best comic-related tweets.
________________________________________________________calliecosplay

Finally, this is where (next week) I’ll post some excellent comic book cosplay.
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadMy vacation is sadly running down… Other than that, who knows what the future may hold?
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

9 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Celebrating 800 Features & Counting

  1. Thank you for the nomination! I love pork meat as well. My favorite dish is a kind of pasta with pork meat in it. It’s called bucatini all’amatriciana, and here’s the english language recipe if you want to try it for a Pasta Friday: http://www.academiabarilla.com/italian-recipes/regione-lazio/bucatini-with-amatriciana-sauce.aspx. If you can’t find the bucatini in Canada, spaghetti will do as well. Also, I do suggest you to avoid the pepper and the chili pepper: they completely ruin the dish, in my opinion.
    And here’s my answers:
    1. Avengers or the Justice League: which group is the best? I do not particularly love any Avenger, but I do love Batman and Green Arrow, so I pick the Justice League.
    2. What coloured Lantern Corps do you think you’ll fit right in with and which one would you want to be a part of? I’ve never read a Green Lantern related comic book, so unfortunately I’m not the right man for this question.
    3. What is your favourite Transformer character of all-time? Even in this case I’m too ignorant to answer. : )
    4. If you could re-do a movie and direct it yourself, what would it be and why? The Air I Breathe. That movie had a great potential and could have become a great movie, if only the director and the screenwriter had fixed or cut the most unlikely parts.
    5. If you could travel back in time, what event would you like to witness for yourself? The Battle of Lepanto, because an Italian writer (Gianni Granzotto) wrote a marvellous novel about it.
    6. What is your dream automobile? I don’t particularly like motors, so any car being cheap and fuel – efficient is ok for me. : )
    7. PC or Mac? PC.
    8. If you could move one DC character to Marvel and one Marvel character to DC, who would they be and why? I would love to read a Green Arrow story with a Marvel touch. DC comics tend to be much darker and less light – hearted than Marvel ones, but Green Arrow is perfectly suitable for a light – hearted story, so I think that Marvel could make him an even more awesome character.
    9. Which video game character is your favourite of all time? I don’t play videogames, but if I did, it would probably be Batman.
    10. If you could only watch one TV series over and over again, what would it be? No brainer: Beverly Hills 90210!

    • Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions and for providing what looks to be a yummy dish.

      My quick answers would be:

      1. Justice League
      2. I’d fit in with the Blue Lantern Corps (Hope) and I’d like to be a part of the Green Lantern Corps (Will).
      3. Starscream.
      4. The movie that immediately comes to mind is Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. Michael Bay just doesn’t know how to develop the Transformers as characters and would rather just make them disposable and generic cannon-fodder especially the Decepticons.
      5. Basically anytime when the dinosaurs still walked the Earth.
      6. An Aston Martin currently though once Google makes those cars that drive themselves I will be so down for that.
      7. PC!
      8. Spider-Man to DC for the very reason you listed and Batman to Marvel just because of the various interactions between him and the other Marvel characters would be classic and highly entertaining. Seeing him do battle with Spidey’s rogues gallery would be a real highlight.
      9. Yoshi
      10. Batman: The Animated Series.

      Thanks again! 🙂

  2. P.S.: I realized that I didn’t give a complete answer to the 8th question. If I could move a Marvel character to DC, I would choose Spider – Man, because all my favorite Spider – stories have a dark atmosphere, and no one is better than DC at producing dark comics.
    By the way, The Long Halloween is a great choice as your favorite comic book. Mine are Daredevil # 219 and Shadow of the Bat # 72. Both of them are standalone stories.

  3. Thank you very much for the nomination! Congratulations to you on your well deserved award, you do an amazing job on this blog, and well done to all the other nominees as well. Great questions and answers, will have a go at the questions asap. Cheers 😀

  4. Cheers for the nomination. Enjoying a nice quiet Saturday afternoon, so thought I answer your questions, loved reading the answers to your questions. Right, here we go…

    1: Tough question, love both teams, but as I have to choose, I’ll say Justice League. I especially liked the issued where they used to team up / crossover with Earth 2 & I hope that’s something that we see again one day in The New 52 😀

    2: Well, I’ve not read many Green Lantern comics so not very familiar with the other colors & their abilities, I’ll be traditional & opt for the Green Lantern Corps.

    3: Gotta be Optimus Prime, awesome Transformer & leader of the Autobots.

    4: Alien 3, actually I think Fincher did a great job on the film, especially considering the production hell it went though. I love the Alien films, so if I could ‘redo’ any film that would be the one I’d like a go at & make it into a genuinely scary film.

    5: If I could travel back in time, like you, I’d probably want to see the Dinosaurs. That would be so awesome!

    6: The TV series Batmobile 😀

    7: PC, although I hear Mac’s are good as well, more expensive though.

    8: Firestorm, I’ve always like the character, so would be interesting to see a Marvel version.

    9: Snake from Metal Gear, love those games.

    10: Watch one TV series, over, and over again??? That’s gotta be Doctor Who for me! I do that already LOL! As you know I’m as big a fan of Doctor Who as I am comic books. I really like Doctor Who, the classic series and the new series as well, yep, it’ll always be Doctor Who for me 😀

    Well, hope you like my answers. Had fun answering them this afternoon. Cheers again for the nomination & have a brilliant weekend 😀

    • Optimus would definitely be my runner-up choice for favourite Transformer with third place going to Waspinator from Beast Wars.

      The awesomeness of the Metal Gear franchise cannot be denied. I came late to the franchise, about a year before #4 was released. A collection of the first three games came out for PS3 and I bought it and absolutely fell in love with it. The wait to Phantom Pain is going to be a long one.

      Thanks so much for taking the time and answering my questions. It was a real treat to read them all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

