Retroactive: Teen Titans 1967 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2001

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Teen Titans 1965/1966 and Ultimate Spider-Man 2000. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1967
teentitanslogo
___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2001ultimatespidermanlogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1967 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2001

  1. I’m with you on the cover for Teen Titans #11 with the team fighting a giant mechanical sea beast, what an exciting cover! Great to see Seedy as a guest star as well! I like Ultimate Marvel Spider-Man #5 with Spiderman poised on the side of the building as the moonlight gleams overhead, an excellent and very mysterious looking cover.

    • USM #5 was my runner-up. I love the unusual perspective, the way Spidey breaks the confines of the cover’s borders, and the colouring. Great choice.

      Thanks fro providing your picks! 🙂

  2. What a powerful image Teen Titans # 10 is, with 3 motorcycles rending the air on the edge of a precipice.
    Also, notice that, while Robin and Wonder Girl are about to crash to the ground and Aqualad is falling down from his motorcycle, the villain, on the contrary, is perfectly in control of the situation, and shows a large sneer on his face. The contrast between the calmness of the villain and the uptight facial expressions of the Teen Titans is a huge plus of this cover.
    As for Spidey, I pick USM # 4, which shows a marvellous slice – of – life scene (Peter coming back home after a night of patrolling).
    Special mention for USM # 7, because of its wonderful flaming sky.
    Bronze medal for USM # 9: Kingpin is the only Spider – villain having so big hands, and a cover foreshadowing his presence will always get a medal in my personal rankning.

    • “What a powerful image Teen Titans # 10 is, with 3 motorcycles rending the air on the edge of a precipice.”
      Your choice earns my bronze medal with Titans #8 taking the silver. I love the Titans battling the giant robot and find it mildly amusing that this killer robot is called Honey Bun.

      “Bronze medal for USM # 9: Kingpin is the only Spider – villain having so big hands, and a cover foreshadowing his presence will always get a medal in my personal rankning.”
      This cover also gets my bronze medal with Paul Bowler’s #1 choice nabbing my runner-up.

      Thanks for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!

      • “This cover also gets my bronze medal with Paul Bowler’s #1 choice nabbing my runner-up.” When our podiums have only one cover in common, I tend to think that probably that image is the real gold – medal – deserving cover. : )
        By the way, your Nightwing – focused post was great! I didn’t know that there was a Nightwing indie tv series, and I’m definitely going to watch it as soon as possible.
        “Thanks for sharing your selections and providing your analysis!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • I’m glad I could bring the Nightwing fan project to your attention. Hopefully you enjoy it. Can’t wait to see the character realized in that TNT Titans show that is rumored to be in development. Us DC fan’s are getting spoiled: Arrow, Flash, Gotham, iZombie, Constantine, Supergirl, and Titans? WOW! If only their movie division could get on track…

Leave a Reply

