Retroactive One-Shot: Gotham City Sirens (The Complete Series)

dc-retroactive90s

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. This being a Retroactive One-Shot, I’ll be featuring every cover of a single series while choosing my overall favourite cover for each year. Click on the specific logo of the year you want to visit to be instantly taken directly there. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks of the series. Click the logo or travel to the fifth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Gotham City Sirens 2009Gotham_City_Sirens_logo___________________________________________________

Gotham City Sirens 2010Gotham_City_Sirens_logo___________________________________________________

Gotham City Sirens 2011Gotham_City_Sirens_logo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

3 thoughts on “Retroactive One-Shot: Gotham City Sirens (The Complete Series)

  1. I really like Gotham City Sirens # 9.
    First of all, we have a supporting character in the foreground and the leading ones in the background: as you know, I love this unusual pattern.
    Secondly, the supporting character of this issue is no less than the Riddler: he’s one of the best Bat – villains ever, so a cover foreshadowing his presence will always get a medal from me.
    Thirdly, the use of shadows and the setting help building a dark atmosphere I absolutely adore. If the characters wore a less coloured outfit, this scene could fit in the old noir movies I love so much.
    As for the other years, the first prize of 2011 goes to Gotham City Sirens. I admit that Selina’s revealing outfit is the main reason why this cover won the gold medal, but I also appreciate the fact that we’re seeing her through the eyes of Harley Quinn.
    The first prize of 2009 (and the overall bronze medal) goes to Gotham City Sirens # 5. Gunmen use to blow upon their gun while the smoke is still exhaling: in this case we have a delightful twist of this habitual gesture, because Harley Quinn is blowing upon her gun, but, if you give that weapon a closer look, you realize that it can’t exhale smoke, because it’s just a toy. Very ironic indeed.
    I also appreciate the very detailed background: the cover artist surely spent a lot of time to draw all those leaves, so the efforts he made to give us this cover deserve a medal alone.
    P.S.: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=preview&id=23866
    I was looking forward to seeing this preview, and I definitely like what I saw. These pages have a pulpy noir feel I absolutely adore.
    P.P.S.: Last week I watched the first 2 episodes of True Detective. I didn’t like them at all, but I instantly fell in love with the catching opening theme:

    • “I really like Gotham City Sirens # 9.”
      If I had to rank my Top 5 in order it would look like this:
      1. Gotham City Sirens #8
      2. Gotham City Sirens #9
      3. Gotham City Sirens #3
      4. Gotham City Sirens #26
      5. Gotham City Sirens #21
      As you can see I am very fond of GCS #9. Too bad this awesome cover came out the same year as #8.

      “I admit that Selina’s revealing outfit is the main reason why this cover won the gold medal, but I also appreciate the fact that we’re seeing her through the eyes of Harley Quinn.”
      I also like how Ivy is emerging from the greenery to complete this two-pronged attack.

      “I was looking forward to seeing this preview, and I definitely like what I saw. These pages have a pulpy noir feel I absolutely adore.”
      I haven’t read the issue yet but its sitting in my stack ready to be enjoyed. You can definitely see the “Arrow” influence on this comic and with Felicity coming onto the series that is only going to increase.

      “Last week I watched the first 2 episodes of True Detective. I didn’t like them at all, but I instantly fell in love with the catching opening theme:”
      I watched not a single second of True Detectives but that main theme is mighty catchy. Why didn’t the show grab you, if you don’t mind me asking?

      Thanks for sharing your selections! More One-Shots are incoming. 🙂

      • “I also like how Ivy is emerging from the greenery to complete this two-pronged attack.” Nice catch GothamRogue, that had passed me by! : )
        “Why didn’t the show grab you, if you don’t mind me asking?” It was really slow, and it also had a very depressive atmosphere.
        “Thanks for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

Leave a Reply

