Retroactive One-Shot: Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. (The Complete Series)

dc-retroactive90s

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. This being a Retroactive One-Shot, I’ll be featuring every cover of a single series while choosing my overall favourite cover for each year. Click on the specific logo of the year you want to visit to be instantly taken directly there. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks of the series. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. 1999
stars and stripe logo
___________________________________________________

Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. 2000
stars and stripe logo
___________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

10 thoughts on “Retroactive One-Shot: Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. (The Complete Series)

    • Yes indeed. While I didn’t pick it up when it initially came out, I did try it out years later. Still resulted in my first experience with Geoff Johns and I became a huge fan of his after that.

  1. I really like Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. # 2.
    The first thing you notice is a multicoloured villain in the foreground. His outfit is so ridiculous that you instantly think “This guy is a complete loser”… but then you look at the background, and you notice that our heroine is terrified by him. Her reaction and the artistic choice of not showing the face of the villain help building a tense and mysterious atmosphere I absolutely adore.
    I also love the trees coloured with black (they help creating an even more dark and ominous atmosphere), the gorgeous tone of purple used for the sky, the title being partially covered by the villain… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    The first prize of 2000 goes to Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. # 14: flying cars and motorcycles are typical of the action packed covers I love so much, so I choose this image without hesitation.

    • “Her reaction and the artistic choice of not showing the face of the villain help building a tense and mysterious atmosphere I absolutely adore.”
      The thing I love about this cover is how the villain is sucking the very colour from Courtney. It makes me wonder just what type of powers he has.

      “The first prize of 2000 goes to Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. # 14: flying cars and motorcycles are typical of the action packed covers I love so much, so I choose this image without hesitation.”
      My full breakdown for Overall Top 5 is as follows:
      1. Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. #13
      2. Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. #14
      3. Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. #8
      4. Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. #5
      5. Stars and S.T.R.I.P.E. #4
      Your choice came oh so close to capturing first place. It was a mighty tight race indeed.

      Thanks for sharing your selections!

    • Well I would never have described her as boring. I’ve always loved the personality of the character whether it be in comics or on the animated Justice League cartoon. And knowing how she was created as a tribute to Geoff Johns’ sister, also named Courtney, who died in a plane crash makes every time he writes her that much more special.

      Thanks for sharing the list though I’ve never been too big a fan of American flag themed heroes other than Captain America and Stargirl. Being from Canada, I’ve always struggled to relate to my friends just how awesome Cap is because they unfortunately can’t see beyond his USA nature. A real shame for them.

      • I live in Australia, so the patriotic theme is irrelevant here, I love Golden Age cap and modern “Unofficial leader of the marvel U” Cap as well, plus his costume and shield are timeless, a toy sits on my shelf next to Uncle Scrooge and Mickey Mouse and Spider-Man

Leave a Reply

