Retroactive One-Shot: Superior Spider-Man (The Complete Series)

marvel retro

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. This being a Retroactive One-Shot, I’ll be featuring every cover of a single series while choosing my overall favourite cover for each year. Click on the specific logo of the year you want to visit to be instantly taken directly there. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks of the series. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Superior Spider-Man 2013
Superior_spider-man
___________________________________________________

Superior Spider-Man 2014
Superior_spider-man
___________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

12 thoughts on “Retroactive One-Shot: Superior Spider-Man (The Complete Series)

  1. What a powerful image Superior Spider – Man # 21 is! The muscular woman at the centre of the cover conveys so much rage and energy that she makes you feel thrilled even before starting to read the issue.
    Also, notice that Spidey’s making the stop signal: his body language reveals that he’s asking for mercy instead of trying to win the fight, and that makes us understand how dangerous this woman is in a very effective way.
    I looked for some informations about Superior Spider – Man # 21 on Marvel Wikia, and I found out that in this issue Dan Slott dusted off an old Spider – villain that had been created in 1995, Stunner (the woman on the cover, of course): as you know, I love when an old character gets dusted off, so this is the third reason why I give this cover the gold medal.
    Marvel Wikia also informed me that Betty Brant appears in Superior – Spider Man # 21. I must get it somehow, because a comic book with Betty Brant always deserves to be read.
    Choosing the best cover of 2013 was a much harder task. On one hand we have Superior Spider – Man # 2, and image of utter passion that instantly caught my eye; on the other hand we have Superior Spider – Man # 3, where we see a cyborg being armed to the teeth and ready to shoot through Spidey’s eyes. At the end I decided to pick Superior Spider – Man # 4.

    • “I looked for some informations about Superior Spider – Man # 21 on Marvel Wikia, and I found out that in this issue Dan Slott dusted off an old Spider – villain that had been created in 1995, Stunner”
      It was a great idea by Slott as Stunner was madly in love with Doc Ock back in the day. Upon hearing that her love perished in battle with Spidey she sought vengeance unaware that Otto was inside of Spidey’s body! Great cover to back up this neat idea.

      “At the end I decided to pick Superior Spider – Man # 4.”
      The first person perspective the cover utilizes is a nice touch but I wasn’t a fan of the villain so this stopped me from considering this cover any further for my picks.

      If I had to Rank my Top 5 it would be as follows:
      1. Superior Spider-Man #1
      2. Superior Spider-Man #3
      3. Superior Spider-Man #28
      4. Superior Spider-Man #24
      5. Superior Spider-Man #17

      Superior #2 just barely missed my Top 5 as did #20. All in all, it was a really strong bunch of covers that made up the entire series.

      Thanks for sharing your selections and providing your analysis! 🙂

  2. I’d have to agree with Superior Spiderman #1 as the best cover as well, I really like how sinister and dark this cover is. Really gives a sense of how the series and character had changed with Otto now inhabiting the mind of Peter Parker. I must admit, I had serious doubts about this series, but I was quickly won over by the awesome writing and art. A brilliant series 😀

    • “I must admit, I had serious doubts about this series, but I was quickly won over by the awesome writing and art. A brilliant series.”
      It was a series that made me wish that Peter didn’t come back so soon. There were still so many stories that could have happened with the Superior Spider-Man and I loved how he interacted with the rest of the heroes. Hopefully the Spider-Verse event can somehow bring the character back after the event’s conclusion. At least that is my wishful thinking…

  3. There are so many brilliant covers for this series in general. Superior Spider-Man 28’s goblin chess really highlighted how Goblin Nation was in a sense, a battle of wits between Spider-Ock and the Goblin. The event really shows that no matter how insane Osborne gets, he still has brains.

    Personally my favourite 2013 cover is number 9, the brain cover, but issue 1 and the runner ups you mentioned are good too.

    • All those covers from the first year were striking and just plain awesome. This had to be one of my toughest Retroactives by far. The creativity that went into creating SSM #9 was very impressive.

      Thanks for sharing your selections! It is much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

