Retroactive One-Shot: iZombie (The Complete Series)

retroactive

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. This being a Retroactive One-Shot, I’ll be featuring every cover of a single series while choosing my overall favourite cover for each year. Click on the specific logo of the year you want to visit to be instantly taken directly there. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks of the series. Click the logo or travel to the fifth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

iZombie 2010
label_title_iZombie
___________________________________________________

iZombie 2011
label_title_iZombie
___________________________________________________

iZombie 2012
label_title_iZombie
___________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive One-Shot: iZombie (The Complete Series)

  1. I bought, read and loved every single issue of iZombie, so this is one of my favorite Retroactive posts ever.
    The overall gold medal goes to iZombie # 12.
    First of all, there’s a marvellous 4th wall breaking detail: the image shows a bloody and monstrous hand touching a comic book… and that issue is iZombie # 12! It’s the comic book version of “play within the play”, and I deeply appreciate it.
    Secondly, that hand is monstrous and covered with blood, and that raises a lot of question: Whose blood is it? Whose hand is it? How is this monstrous character involved in the life of Gwen and her friends?
    Thirdly, the image on the comic book is another stroke of genius. At first you may think that it shows a model wearing a brand new dress… but then you give the image a closer look, and you realize that the woman on the cover is Ellie, and the dress she wears definitely doesn’t come from a stylist, because it shows Gwen’s secret identity as a zombie. That dress is so eye – widening question – raising that it deserves the gold medal alone.
    As for 2012, I pick iZombie # 22: I do appreciate the extremely detailed statue and background, and I also love the contrast between the colours used for Gwen and the grey used for the rest of the cover, because all that grey make her stand out in a very eye – catching way.
    As for 2010, I pick iZombie # 3, because the pose of Gwen and her friends is a delightful tribute to Charlie’s Angels. If you type “Charlie’s Angels” on Google Images, you’ll find out that this is a classic Charlie’s Angels pose, with a member of the team in the foreground and the other two being at her right and left side.

    • “I bought, read and loved every single issue of iZombie, so this is one of my favorite Retroactive posts ever.”
      And it is in large part due to your good word that I recently bought the entire series in trade format. Just finished the very first one and loved it! Thanks for that.

      “At first you may think that it shows a model wearing a brand new dress… but then you give the image a closer look, and you realize that the woman on the cover is Ellie, and the dress she wears definitely doesn’t come from a stylist, because it shows Gwen’s secret identity as a zombie. That dress is so eye – widening question – raising that it deserves the gold medal alone.”
      That was an awesome touch with the dress and it broke my heart that this cover just missed my Overall Top 5. Fantastic selection and I’m glad you gave it its due with your analysis.

      “As for 2010, I pick iZombie # 3, because the pose of Gwen and her friends is a delightful tribute to Charlie’s Angels.”
      Ah that somehow got past me. Nice eye. On a side note, is it just me or is the way that they displayed the creator credits in the curved shape suppose to be reminding us of a bite mark? If so, that in itself was a brilliant idea.

      For me, my Complete Rankings is as follows:
      1. iZombie #1
      2. iZombie #2
      3. iZombie #20
      4. iZombie #7
      5. iZombie #5

      Thanks for sharing your selections! 🙂

      • “And it is in large part due to your good word that I recently bought the entire series in trade format. Just finished the very first one and loved it! Thanks for that.” I knew for sure you would have liked it. You like quirky comics, and iZombie is one of the quirkiest comics ever. I’m honoured that you decided to try it because of my good word.
        “On a side note, is it just me or is the way that they displayed the creator credits in the curved shape suppose to be reminding us of a bite mark?” I don’t rule out your hypothesis.
        “Thanks for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your replies! : )

    • I just recently bought the entire series and have enjoyed the first trade immensely. It is also being made into a live-action TV show though by the sounds of it, it will be a very loose adaptation.

Leave a Reply

