On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 10/29/14

Radar It is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Axis: Carnage #1
Axis Carnage #1 (of 3)
Creative Team
Rick Spears and German Peralta
Solicitation
“Carnage is back in NYC and the city will never look at him the same way again! Something incredible has happened to the symbiote serial killer in AVENGERS & X-MEN: AXIS that will have Cletus and you reeling!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
People in trouble? Who will we call to save the day? Well none other than that all-American hero…Carnage? Carnage as a good guy? Now this is something I have to see!
________________________________________________________

Death of Wolverine: Deadpool and Captain America #1
Death Of Wolverine Deadpool And Captain America
Creative Team

Gerry Duggan and Scott Kolins
Solicitation

“Did you know Wolverine is dead? I bet some people would love to get their hands on his DNA to clone him… Logan’s old pals Deadpool and Steve Rogers are gonna make sure that doesn’t happen.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
This is one of the select Death of Wolverine tie-ins that I’m actually going to get and for good reason. Humor! Action! Drama! Add those to the promise of Deadpool teaming up with a severely aged Steve Rogers and you get an issue that could be something special indeed. Just look at that cover: Steve swinging his cane, Deadpool unleashing a hailstorm of bullets, and ninjas circling in. What more could you ask for?
________________________________________________________

Harley Quinn Annual #1
Harley Quinn Annual #1 (International Edition)
Creative Team

Amanda Conner and John Timms
Solicitation
“We have to warn you, readers: This issue stinks! Seriously! Like, unpleasant odors are literally in the story! In this first-ever HQ ANNUAL, take a trip to Harley’s home of Coney Island in a groundbreaking ‘scent-ticular’ issue, featuring actual, honest-to-gosh smells. This issue comes polybagged to contain the stench. Features smells similar to leather, suntanlotion, pizza and fresh lawn clippings.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It 
It is a scratch and sniff issue. Need I really say more?
________________________________________________________

Marvel 75th Anniversary Celebration
Marvel 75th Anniversary Celebration #1
Creative Team

Various
Solicitation
“A super-sized celebration of 75 years of the World’s Greatest Comics! What happened the day the Marvel Universe was born? James Robinson and Chris Samnee have the answer! Legendary artist Bruce Timm adapts the very first Captain America story Stan Lee ever wrote, from 1941! As Spider-Man battles the Kingpin, Peter Parker’s pals -n- gals lament his absence, in a story by Tom DeFalco and Stan Goldberg. Brian Michael Bendis & Michael Gaydos guide Netflix’s Jessica Jones as she investigates a case with roots in the past of the Marvel Universe! Wolverine’s ‘father’ Len Wein and Paul Gulacy recount an untold encounter between Logan and Sabretooth! And More!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
A who’s who of comic book superstars pay tribute to Marvel’s big anniversary. Of all the various tales it is the one drawn by DC mainstay Bruce Timm that has me most excited though. I’m crossing my fingers that the rest of the issue lives up to its very promising roster.
________________________________________________________

Wonder Woman #35
Wonder Woman #35
Creative Team

Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chiang
Solicitation
“It’s the grand finale of the historic WONDER WOMAN epic by writer Brian Azzarello and artist Cliff Chiang! Saying more would spoil all the surprises – and there will be plenty!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Three years ago Azzarello and Chiang rejuvenated the Wonder Woman series making it fresh and unlike any of the other titles of the New 52. It was consistently awesome, never putting out a clunker of an issue something that the rest of the line would have a hard time saying. It is with great sadness that their run comes to an end this week though on the flip side I’m extremely eager to see what is sure to be an epic conclusion. Azzarello and Chiang I salute you and thank you from the very bottom of my heart for three wondrous years.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
All-New X-Men #33
Atomic Robo and the Knights of the Golden Circle #5
Batman Eternal #30
Earth 2: World’s End #4
Elektra #7
Guardians of the Galaxy #20
Sinestro #6
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 10/29/14 goes to….
Wonder Woman #35
Wonder Woman #35

I sure wouldn’t want to be the team following up from them…
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (5 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (1 Issue). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

6 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 10/29/14

  1. I enjoyed the first few volumes of Wonder Woman that I’ve read so far. It was my time reading Wonder Woman comics and it’s simply amazing. Sad to find out it’s wrapping up but I’m sure the ending won’t disappoint!

  2. 5-week months are nice. For the most part we get the same number of comics, but it’s spread out over an extra week to make it easier on our wallets.

    I’m only picking up 4 issues for sure – All New X-Men 33, Logan Legacy 3, Edge of Spider-Verse 3 (missed the first printing because my local store had a lot of last minute requests for it, running out before Wednesday) and Guardians of the Galaxy 20. I might also pick up Deathlock 1 and the Justice League United Annual. If I only pick up the three new comics though, I’ll likely skip my usual first impressions post and just to the full reviews of all three (might do that anyway).

    As for the Logan Legacy mini-series, I’m probably not picking up the Lady Deathstrike issue and am almost definitely not picking up Daken’s. Neither are characters I have much interest in, and if X-23’s issue is any indication, each will be completely self-contained (except maybe Sabertooth’s and Mystique’s). I’m also not picking up the Weapon X mini-series, at least with their initial releases.

    Also, my blog is taking a sort-of vacation next month. Read the update I just posted for more information, but for November there won’t be as many comic-related posts due to another project I have coming up.

    • “5-week months are nice. For the most part we get the same number of comics, but it’s spread out over an extra week to make it easier on our wallets.”
      I am the opposite as I usually get suckered into some 5-week event series but this month was without one. I’m not complaining as I am so far behind on my reading anyways. 🙂

      “I might also pick up Deathlock 1”
      With my pull-list so full, I’m going to pass on Deathlock since I’ve never really been a fan of the character. If you pick it up I’ll be extremely interested in what you think of it.

      “Read the update I just posted for more information, but for November there won’t be as many comic-related posts due to another project I have coming up.”
      I did just that and it sounds awesome. Best of luck!

      Thanks for sharing your pull-list and have a great NCBD.

Leave a Reply

