Comic Book Rankings: 2014 Special Edition

Rankings

It is that time of year again when I update my Overall Rankings in a whole myriad of categories including video games, movies, and TV shows that are comic related along with stacking up all of my current series against one another and seeing which comics reign supreme. To be taken to a particular section just click on the appropriate link. Otherwise, just hit next and let the journey begin!

________________________________________________________

My Top Comic Book Video Games
__________

My Top Comic Book Animated Movies
__________

My Top Animated Comic Book Shows
__________

My Top Live-Action Comic Book Shows
__________

My Top Live-Action Comic Book Movies
__________

My Top Overall Current Comic Series
__________

com-next

13 thoughts on “Comic Book Rankings: 2014 Special Edition

  1. My ranking is:

    1) The Punisher
    2) Witchblade
    3) Green Arrow
    4) X
    5) Swamp Thing
    6) Daredevil
    7) The Phantom Stranger
    8) Superman/Wonder Woman
    9) Batman
    10) Detective Comics

    I didn’t consider the series which are about to close, like Superior Foes of Spider – Man.
    As you can see, my pull list is quite narrow at the moment – and I’m glad of it, because my budget is narrow as well.
    My budget will become even smaller in the next days, because on the 30th of October I’ll go to the biggest comic book convention here in Italy, and probably I’ll spent a lot of money there. I’ll let you know which comics I’ll buy there, as I did 2 years ago (https://thegothamrogue.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/bullet-points-part-2-dc-comics-101712/). The 3 DC trades I mentioned in that old comment are awesome, by the way.

    • “As you can see, my pull list is quite narrow at the moment – and I’m glad of it, because my budget is narrow as well.”
      And about to get narrower since Phantom Stranger has ended. Are you going to get Trinity of Sin to follow the character going forward?

      Comparing my list from last year:

      Last year I had 8 DC, 10 Marvel, and 2 Independents.
      This year I had 6 DC, 11 Marvel, and 3 Independents.
      Marvel made a lot of inroads capturing 10 of the Top 15 titles compared to 8 last year.

      Titles that left my list since last year are: The Flash, Batman & Robin, Wolverine and the X-Men, New Avengers, FF, Superior Spider-Man, Morning Glories, Batwoman, Young Avengers, and Green Lantern.

      Brand-new titles that made my list this year: She-Hulk, Loki: Agent of Asgard, Secret Avengers, Ms. Marvel, Rocket Raccoon, Silver Surfer, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10, Batman Eternal, Justice League, and Lumberjanes.

      Thanks for sharing your list and I hope you get a lot of stellar books at the convention. Can’t wait to hear what you get. 🙂

      • “And about to get narrower since Phantom Stranger has ended.” I didn’t know that. This news saddens me, because it was a high quality series.
        “Are you going to get Trinity of Sin to follow the character going forward?” I figure it’s going to be a team – based series: I don’t like team – based comic books, so I think I won’t add it to my pull list.
        “Thanks for sharing your list and I hope you get a lot of stellar books at the convention.” I’ll start from my home in the next 30 minutes, so now I’m very excited, like a baby the night before Christmas. Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • Phantom Stranger #22 (AUG) and Futures End: Phantom Stranger (SEPT) were the final two issues of the series. I don’t know whereabouts you are with your collection so you might have another few months?

          • Yes, I have. Here in Italy The Phantom Stranger is bundled up with Constantine, Animal Man and Swamp Thing in a giant comic book named “Dark Universe”, and the last issue of Dark Universe contained:

            Constantine # 10
            The Phantom Stranger # 15
            Animal Man # 27
            Swamp Thing # 27

            I don’t read Constantine, because it’s not my cup of tea.
            Also, I wish you all the best for your own comic book, and I’m very glad that it could come to life in a short time. Thank you for your reply! : )

            • That title is definitely going to be undergoing some changes since two of the four books have concluded. I guess one switch will be Trinity of Sin? I do not know what the other could be unless they do Justice League Dark as the other?

              Also, thank you for the well wishes! 🙂

              • “I guess one switch will be Trinity of Sin? I do not know what the other could be unless they do Justice League Dark as the other?” I think that both your predictions are solid.

  2. I’m not sure if I could do a list of my favourite current ongoing titles and order them. My mind usually doesn’t work that way. That said, if I did do a list of my 10 favourite ongoings, it would certainly include All New X-Men, Uncanny X-Men, She Hulk, Ms. Marvel, Captain Marvel, Batman, Batgirl and Witchblade.

    I’ve played almost all of the video games you mentioned and it’s a good list – mine wouldn’t be too different. I never played Arkham Origins (heard it’s not as good as the other two, so I’ll wait until I find it for cheap), but the other two are fantastic and I’m excited for Arkham Knight. One game I would include on there that you didn’t is the Marvel vs. Capcom series, and perhaps mention TMNT 2 for the NES alongside Turtles In Time. I’d also probably mention Spider-Man 2 along with Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions.

    Also there’s something that kind of must be said. While I generally enjoy Marvel comics more than DC, DC’s animated movies are usually much better than Marvel’s. You pretty much made that clear in your rankings, but still. They have so many good animated movies that it’s difficult to select from the best.

    • Arkham Origins is definitely not as good as the previous two entries but it did have its bright points. The new voice actor for Joker was brilliant and the Deathstroke fight was awesome.

      I’ve never played the Marvel vs. Capcom series but I’ll have to get to them and they could possibly make my list next year.

      TMNT II: I never could beat that game. One of these years I’ll have to try again and see if I can eventually overcome it.

      “While I generally enjoy Marvel comics more than DC, DC’s animated movies are usually much better than Marvel’s.”
      Yes indeed. DC Animation > Marvel Animation. DC TV > Marvel TV. Marvel has DC in the chokehold for live-action movies though.

Leave a Reply

