The Comic Connection Vol. 2: Issue #1 (DC vs Marvel Film Slates)

comicconnection Welcome to the first edition of the second volume of the Comic Connection! The main point of its existence is to share and discuss, to Connect through Comics. Its centrepiece is the Monthly Question, a question I will pose dealing with anything Comic related. Then I turn it over to you and to Twitter to offer any feedback/your opinion on the topic with your answers being featured on a future posting. With that said, let’s get to the first question:

________________________________________________________

“DC vs Marvel: which company has the better future movie slate?”
________________________________________________________

DC opened the battle in the theatres by unleashing their future film plans two weeks ago and Marvel countered on Tuesday with their offerings. Marvel planning ahead is nothing new but DC actually showing some initiative is refreshing but what I’m really here to decide is which company has the edge over the other. First I’ll post the full line-up of each company and then look to determine the winner of 2015-2016, 2017, and 2018 & beyond which will lead to the eventual overall victor. Without further ado:

DC’s Movie Slate
Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)
Suicide Squad (2016)
Wonder Woman (2017)
Justice League Part One (2017)
The Flash (2018)
Aquaman (2018)
Shazam (2019)
Justice League Part Two (2019)
Cyborg (2020)
Green Lantern (2020)

Marvel’s Movie Slate
Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
Ant-Man (2015)
Captain America: Civil War (2016)
Doctor Strange (2016)
Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2017)
Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
Black Panther (2017)
Avengers: Infinity War – Part I (2018)
Captain Marvel (2018)
Inhumans (2018)
Avengers: Infinity War – Part II (2019)

2015-2016:

So Marvel has a 4 to 2 edge on DC here as DC doesn’t kick things into gear until 2016. It is a rather close battle with Batman v Superman being highly anticipated by me despite the fact that Snyder is involved. In the end it comes down to not only getting a new Avengers but also having Captain America v Iron Man in the Civil War and Marvel’s decision to finally release a Doctor Strange movie compared to a Suicide Squad movie that I’m feeling some apprehension about.
Verdict: Marvel

2017:

Once again Marvel has the edge with 3 movies to DC’s 2 but DC has an ace up their sleeve with not only a solo female superhero film but the first part of Justice League. Marvel counters with the highly anticipated sequel to one of my Top 5 Marvel films ever in the form of Guardians of the Galaxy, a threequel for Thor, and a Black Panther solo film. It was another hard-fought contest but the pull of finally seeing a Wonder Woman film after all these years and the awesomeness that should happen when the Justice League forms on the big screen helps big time in DC’s favor.
Verdict: DC

2018-2020:

So Marvel’s line-up only goes to very early 2019 while DC’s runs to 2020 which causes DC to have a 6 to 4 movie edge. DC has a nice mixture of films ranging from highly anticipated (the second part of Justice League) to movies full of potential (Aquaman, Shazam, and Green Lantern). The two movies I’m unsure about most are Flash and Cyborg. Though it is nice to be diverse I really question Cyborg being able to hold his own movie while the actor they chose to play Flash has left me wanting especially after seeing Grant Gustin’s Flash portrayal. I’ll keep an open mind but neither one of these movies rank very high for me which is a big shocker since I’m a huge Flash film. On Marvel we have their first solo female movie with Captain Marvel and a movie which I feel uninterested in with the Inhumans. Not to be outdone by DC, Marvel takes their Avengers franchise and splits it into two parts as well, only taking a year between each part though. Infinity War looks to be the culmination of all three phases of Marvel’s movieverse as the majority of their heroes from the movies and possibly TV shows unite to battle Thanos and his Infinity Gauntlet. It is for this very reason that I can’t fathom not giving the category to Marvel as they have earned this team-up while DC rushed to theirs.
Verdict: Marvel

Marvel takes the overall title but one thing is for sure: the real winner is us fans as we have many, many years of awesome comic movies to look forward to!

_________________________________________________________________________________

That wraps up the first edition of The Comic Connection 2.0. Have any comments on the question posed? You know what to do.

12 thoughts on “The Comic Connection Vol. 2: Issue #1 (DC vs Marvel Film Slates)

  1. Among the movies you listed, the ones I may watch are:

    Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016), because I’m a Bat – fan
    Suicide Squad (2016), because I love action movies
    Cyborg (2020), because I like the character and I love cyborgs
    Black Panther (2017), because I enjoyed the Black Panther stories set in Hell’s Kitchen

    Of course, if the Black Panther movie isn’t set in Hell’s Kitchen, I’ll remove it from my watchlist.

  2. I would like to be excited for DC’s movies, but I really don’t like Zack Snider as a director. His adaptation of Watchmen was alright if only because he stuck to the original story, but I’m still not really a fan of his visual style and his specific use of slow motion. I also hated the story and character work in Man of Steel since to me, it felt like a complete betrayal of Superman as a character. I’m also not sure about doing a Suicide Squad movie so soon, especially if they have no plans for a Batman solo movie in the near future. It also does feel like they’re really rushing the Justice League movies onto the screen since we have 3 movies in 3 years with the word “Justice” in the title. That’s a bit much, and besides Batman, Superman and maybe Wonder Woman, the general public doesn’t know that much about DC comics. And outside of the Nolan Batman trilogy, their track record has been very inconsistent.

    That said, I do hope that the DC movies can do well, and I do hope that the Wonder Woman movie is actually good. I’ll give Zack Snider this much also – he is correct in saying that Aquaman is awesome. And it is good that DC shows faith in their own cinematic universe even if I don’t share the same faith.

    Marvel on the other hand has garnered so much goodwill over the last 7 years that at this point, they can do pretty much anything. They’ve already earned a 2-part Avengers movie and the second one hasn’t even released yet. I was beyond excited when they announced the Captain Marvel movie – it’s about time. I’m not a fan of Black Panther (due to unfamiliarity), but it’s great to see them putting him in Captain America 3 and later giving him his own movie. I also don’t care much for the Inhumans announcement, but I’ll give it a chance.

    • “I also hated the story and character work in Man of Steel since to me, it felt like a complete betrayal of Superman as a character.”
      Every time I watch Man of Steel I like the movie a little less. I can think of no finer example than this month’s issue of Superman written by Geoff Johns where Superman instructs another hero that they do not kill, that they have to find a way to solve the problem without resorting to that. It is because of Man of Steel that I’m apprehensive about Batman v Superman and Justice League. Snyder has never wowed me.

      “It also does feel like they’re really rushing the Justice League movies onto the screen since we have 3 movies in 3 years with the word “Justice” in the title.”
      Another thing that bugs me is that Avengers has earned the right to have a two-parter because they have been building up to this storyline for years. DC has no reason to make their Justice League a two-parter, it isn’t earned and having the sequel coming out two years from the first is also a negative. Two-parters usually come out the following year after all.

      “I also don’t care much for the Inhumans announcement, but I’ll give it a chance.”
      I’m also not a fan of how Marvel is shoving those characters down our throats at the expense of the X-Men.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. I really excited for Batman vs Superman & the JLA films, and Marvel’s Avenger movies as well. Great that there will finally be a Black Panther & Dr Strange films, always liked those characters as well 😀

  4. Strangely enough, I have absolutely no interest in the DC movies at this point and time. It just feels like they are late to the party, trying to imitate what Marvel is doing in the hopes of some success and looking the poorer for it. I like DC. I like DC Comics, and they could have been pioneers if Warner Bros. had realized a lot earlier that they were sitting on a gold mine. Instead there have been like 86 Batman movies and only now, after Marvel has blazed the trail, have the come to the conclusion that maybe there are people out there that would like to watch movies of this sort.

    I am very excited for the Marvel film slate, but as of right now, I will watch the DC films, but have zero expectations for them.

    • Warner Bros. have mishandled their live-action DC movies badly. You summed up everything perfectly. WB reacted (very slowly) to Marvel’s success. With their slate I think they’re being a little too ambitious. Suicide Squad as their second film? Most people have no clue who the majority of the characters are in this movie and the general public are not invested in the DCU of movies since their division is in its infancy. This would be akin to Marvel releasing Guardians of the Galaxy after Iron Man instead of years down the road. That movie wouldn’t have been as successful if they went that route instead because the audience was not invested in all things Marvel yet.

Leave a Reply

