Retroactive: The Flash 1999 & Uncanny X-Men 2006


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 1998 and Uncanny X-Men 2005. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 1999
flash-logo

___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 2006
uncanny_xmenlogo

________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 1999 & Uncanny X-Men 2006

  1. I really like UXM # 474.
    First of all, there’s one of my favorite mutants (Bishop), and he has a lot of eye – pleasing details: big muscles, shoulder pads, cartridge belts all over his chest, two giant guns in his hands…
    Secondly, I love the layers on this cover. First we have Psylocke holding a sort of sword and Nightcrawler surrounded by purple smoke (I love how blue and black are combined on Psylocke’s costume), then we go back further and we see Bishop being armed to the teeth, then we go back even further and we see Marvel Girl and Cannonball.
    Thirdly, I love the fact that Cannonball makes his entrance by breaking the X – Men title. This stroke of genius would deserve the gold medal alone.
    Special mention for UXM # 471: an action packed brawl, raging faces, a giant gun being about to explode right next to Nightcrawler (the lighting on that gun is perfect, by the way)… I also love the fact that, while all the others X – Men are involved in a heated fight, Marvel Girl, on the contrary, stays on her own, and tries to concentrate her energies before starting to attack.
    It was a really, really hard task to choose the bronze medalist. I like the Annual, because it conveys a peaceful atmosphere I absolutely adore, and I also like UXM # 477, because of its remarkable aesthetic value… but at the end I decided to pick UXM # 476.
    The character depicted in this image is extremely threatening. His glance is pure evil and pure madness; the dagger he’s holding in his teeth drips a mysterious white liquid (it can’t be his saliva, because it’s too distant from his mouth); if you look around his waist, you realize there’s another dagger in his left hand, and the head of a robot in his right one… add the ominously dark background, and you get a cover that definitely gives you the shudders and makes you want to know how such a disturbing character will influence the X – Men’s life.
    The other gold medal goes to Flash # 151. I give this cover the gold medal mainly because of Robin’s presence and because of the giant gun Gorilla Grod is holding, but I also love the tagline: “One man against a gorilla invasion… no, wait, one KID against a gorilla invasion!” I love the contrast between the ironic tone of the tagline and the tense atmosphere of the scene depicted under the title.

    • “I love the fact that Cannonball makes his entrance by breaking the X – Men title. This stroke of genius would deserve the gold medal alone.”
      That is a real highlight for me as well.

      The tough time I had only picking one was immense this year. Being a huge fan of Bachalo his covers instantly stood out to. My runner-up is Paul Bowler’s #1 selection (UXM #472). The use of colouring and inclusion of the Sentinel is very eye-catching. Third place goes to UXM #467. The glow form Psylocke’s psi-blade is awesome and I also love the positioning of all the characters. 4th and 5th go to #474 and #476 respectively. On a side note, I really enjoyed your analysis of your choices and it was nice seeing them get their due.

      “The other gold medal goes to Flash # 151.”
      You and Paul Bowler see eye to eye with this one. For me it gets third with #154’s revelatory issue grabbing my undivided attention and earning second. The look of shock on the speedsters’ faces as this new Flash reveals his identity really makes me want to pick-up the issue to discover just who on earth he could be.

      Thanks for providing your choices! 🙂

  2. The Flash Vol 2 #151 is a nice cover, featuring Kid Flash, Robin, and Aqualad, not often we see them all on a cover like this. The plain white background also makes the image really jump off the page, drawing you into the action. Like Uncanny XMen #472 with Psylock, Nightcrawler, and Cannonball beside the trashed head of the sentinel. Another plain white background also helps showcase the art, with the vivid colors accentuating the scene further. To great covers for this edition of retroactive 😀

    • You and wwayne are on the same page with Flash #151 while it earns my third place award. As for your choice of UXM #472, I came oh so close to choosing this as my overall pick but in the end I couldn’t resist the pull of the Rachel Grey cover.

      Thanks for sharing your selections!

  3. A lot of people didn’t like Chris Claremont’s 2005/2006 Uncanny run, but I thought it was at least decent. The storyline where the Grey family was massacred was brutal yet effective, and the last story regarding Psylocke’s mysterious return from the dead made sense of her family in an entertaining way. The savage land arc was also pretty epic. Sure his X-23 characterization was … really weird, but back then she didn’t have much development beforehand. And yes, that Rachel Grey cover was fantastic.

    My favourite of the Flash covers is between the one you picked and the giant cyborg ape, because those are usually fricken awesome.

    • I never read the Claremont 2005/2006 run so its illuminating to hear your thoughts on the era. I for one have only been mad with Claremont due to how he helped ruin one of my favourite quasi X-titles: the Exiles. The damage he did killed the franchise but I cross my fingers it returns again, like a Phoenix rising from the ashes. 🙂

      Thanks for the commentary and listing your fav Flash covers of the year. It is much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

