Retroactive: TMNT 1987 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1998/1999

retroactive

In this Retroactive edition I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular franchise with each entry covering an entire year of all the major related titles. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each franchise. Last time on Retroactive we covered TMNT 1986 and Hellboy & the B.P.R.D. 1997. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two franchises that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that franchise. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1987
tmntlogo

___________________________________________________

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1998/1999
Hellboylogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: TMNT 1987 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1998/1999

  1. I completely agree with the TMNT cover you chose.
    Special mention for TMNT # 12.
    First of all, it shows 4 submachine guns: as you know, the more a cover is filled with big guns, the more I feel inclined to give it a medal.
    Secondly, it foreshadows a gunfight in the jungle: I’m a big fan of First Blood and Sly’s action movies in general, so I love this situation.
    Thirdly, the cover artist surely spent a lot of time drawing all those leaves, so the efforts he made deserve a prize alone.
    The other gold medal goes to Hellboy Junior # 2, because it has a light – hearted atmosphere I absolutely adore.

    • “Special mention for TMNT # 12.”
      This year we are in complete agreement with our #1 and #2 picks. Rounding out my Top 3 is TMNT #10. I love the black and white background mixed with the coloured foreground plus the up-close fight between Shredder and Raphael.

      “The other gold medal goes to Hellboy Junior # 2, because it has a light – hearted atmosphere I absolutely adore.”
      For me, my runner-up goes to Abe Sapien. A truly chilling scene that is somehow beautiful despite the grim nature of the image.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

      • “Rounding out my Top 3 is TMNT #10.” As for my bronze medal, I’m still wavering between Tales of the TMNT # 1 and Tales of the TMNT # 2. The 2nd issue is more beautiful from an aesthetic point of view, but the 1st issue shows a more intriguing situation. Let’s say that Tales of the TMNT #1 wins the 3rd prize by a hair’s breadth.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

  2. I’m with you on the choice for TMNT #11, very dark and moody cover, like how the light is rising in the background, creating a very spooky twilight effect. Batman / Hellboy / Starman #1 is an epic cover featuring these great characters all together, great how the light highlights each character as well. Really nice choice of covers for this retroactive 😀

Leave a Reply

