Retroactive: Teen Titans 1970 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2004


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Teen Titans 1969 and Ultimate Spider-Man 2003. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1970
teentitanslogo

___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2004
ultimatespidermanlogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

7 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1970 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2004

  1. I really like USM # 51.
    First of all, the villain is in the foreground and the leading character is in the background: as you know, I love this unusual pattern.
    Secondly, the cover artist perfectly caught the essence of the character. What makes Black Cat so intriguing is her sultry attitude, and this image makes you understand that in a very effective way: not only because of her revealing outfit, but also because of the way she bends her back and waves her hair. If the cover artist had put a come – hither look on her, we would have gotten a perfect femme fatale.
    Thirdly, I love the way light and shadow are combined on Peter’s body.
    Special mention for USM # 52: Black Cat + Elektra? I’m definitely sold! : )
    Bronze medal for USM # 66, because it conveys a lot of energy and it also has a jaw – dropping colouring.
    Of course I didn’t consider the covers starring Carnage, because I love this character so much that I really can’t give an unbiased opinion on a cover starring him.
    The other gold medal goes to Teen Titans # 29. The main reason why I give this cover the 1st prize is Hawk & Dove’s presence (they used to appear on this title quite frequently, now that I think about it), but I also love the thought bubble: “Who do I save? My brother… or myself?” Very enticing indeed.

    • “Special mention for USM # 52: Black Cat + Elektra”
      I love the body language of Spider-Man as if he is saying “oh what have I gotten myself into?” This cover earns third place for me with USM #63 coming in 2nd. I love the ominous image of Spidey grabbing an unseen figure’s hand, his grief being palpable. Who has perished? It is a looming mystery that captures our collective imaginations. Fourth goes to USM #51 for the very reasons you so expertly listed with 5th going to #61’s Carnage death grip on our hero.

      “Of course I didn’t consider the covers starring Carnage, because I love this character so much that I really can’t give an unbiased opinion on a cover starring him.”
      Being a fan of Carnage, which cover of this year do you think was the best of his?

      “The other gold medal goes to Teen Titans # 29.”
      A great cover that just misses my podium. 2nd Place goes to #26’s shocking cover as the Titans give up their costumed identities to join a mysterious (and probably evil) character. 3rd goes to Paul Bowler’s pick.

      Thanks, as always for providing your choices and sharing your insight. 🙂

      • “Being a fan of Carnage, which cover of this year do you think was the best of his?” USM # 62, because the ominously dark background make him stand out in a very eye – catching way.
        “Thanks, as always for providing your choices and sharing your insight.” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your reply! : )

  2. Teen Titans #28 is a very dramatic cover, with Aqualad punching Robin. I wonder what’s caused him to fall out with the Titan’s like this? Makes you want to read the issue and find out. I agree with your choice for Ultimate Spiderman #58, with Spidey captured by Doc Ock, a very dark and foreboding cover indeed!

Leave a Reply

