Retroactive: TMNT 1988 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2001

retroactive

In this Retroactive edition I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular franchise with each entry covering an entire year of all the major related titles. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each franchise. Last time on Retroactive we covered TMNT 1987 and Hellboy & the B.P.R.D. 1998/1999. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two franchises that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that franchise. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1988
tmntlogo

___________________________________________________

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2001
Hellboylogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: TMNT 1988 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2001

  1. It was a really, really hard task to choose the best Turtle cover. When I’m undecided, I usually pick the cover that shows the most intriguing situation: in this case I can’t choose on this principle, because TMNT # 13 and TMNT # 14 show exactly the same scene (a villain waiting in ambush for his/her enemy).
    TMNT # 13 is more detailed and more beautiful from an aesthetic point of view, but at the end I decided to pick TMNT # 14, for 2 reasons:
    1) I like urban setting more than rural setting;
    2) The Turtles are exposed to a more serious danger: in TMNT # 13 they are ready to attack, because they have their weapons in their hands; in TMNT # 14, on the contrary, they are searching the place with their hands down, so the villain waiting in ambush for them will totally take them by surprise.
    As for Hellboy, I love cyborgs, so I completely agree with the cover you chose. Special mention for Hellboy: Conqueror Worm # 4, because that starry sky is very eye – pleasing. I also love the various tones of gold used for the centre of the cover.
    P.S.: Yesterday I read the first trade of Moon Knight, and I found it incredibly good. I especially love the relationship between Moon Knight and Detective Flint, because it reminds me of the friendship between Batman and Commissioner Gordon.

    • Tales of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #4 (the cover you are referencing) is hands down my runner-up choice. The evil Rat King gleefully waiting to pounce on our unsuspecting heroes is a terrific visual. 3rd Place goes to TMNT #16 with its up-close and intense image. I’m also intrigued by Leo using a slingshot instead of his trademark swords.

      “Special mention for Hellboy: Conqueror Worm # 4”
      And I would say special mention to #1. The orientation of the characters, the inclusion of Lobster Johnson, the bloodied card, the skeleton solider, the beautiful background: everything adds up to a visually striking cover.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices and providing your commentary.

      • “3rd Place goes to TMNT #16 with its up-close and intense image.” And my 3rd place goes to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #14, because it has a gangster movie atmosphere I absolutely adore.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices and providing your commentary.” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your replies! : )

        • I had a good feeling that TMNT #14 would make your Top 3. At one point I actually thought it had a real good chance of capturing 1st Place. Good thing I didn’t place any bets on it. 🙂

  2. I really liked the cover of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #17 as well, such a striking black & white cover. Dark, spooky, and mysterious, its a cover that instantly makes you want to find out what’s going on in the issue – as well as being a magnificent piece of art in its own right. Hellboy Conqueror Worm #1 is another stunning cover. It sets up all the elements of this terrific storyline and its great use of color and shadow really make for an excellent cover. A great edition of retroactive 😀

    • TMNT #17 is an instant classic and Conqueror Worm just narrowly missed being my #1 choice. If I could have had a tie that cover would have deserved it and I’m glad to see it as your top choice.

      Thanks for providing your picks! Much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

