Retroactive: Teen Titans 1971 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2005


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Teen Titans 1970 and Ultimate Spider-Man 2004. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1971
teentitanslogo

___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2005
ultimatespidermanlogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1971 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2005

  1. 9 times out of 10 the Teen Titans have to fight a villain, a monster or a monstrous villain.
    That’s why Teen Titans # 31 instantly won me over: because this time they have to face a completely different kind of problem, that is to say a raging crowd. This is a very enticing situation and a very insidious task, because, as Speedy points out, they can’t hit back.
    I also love the contrast between the raging faces of the crowd and the words written on their papers: one of them says “Love not war”, and you can read the word “Peace” on 2 other papers.
    The 3rd reason why I give Teen Titans # 31 the gold medal is Wonder Girl’s pose. It perfectly conveys how helpless the Teen Titans feel, and it has a huge emotional power.
    The icing on the cake is the tagline: “To order is to destroy!” This tagline is paradoxical, so it definitely grabs your attention.
    The 36 old Teen Titans covers you uploaded on your blog are all gorgeous, and Teen Titans # 31 definitely is one of the brightest gems.
    As for Spidey, I pick USM # 81, because Kingpin’s smirking face has been drawn in a way that perfectly catches his evil nature, and the use of light and shadows is perfect as well.
    Silver medal for the Annual, because it foreshadows a romantic issue.
    Bronze medal for USM # 82, because of Felicia’s revealing outfit.
    I’m really sorry that a stellar image like USM # 80 didn’t get any medal in my personal ranking.
    P.S.: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=poll&id=280
    I voted for Dark Horse. I’m immensely thankful to this publisher for giving us two wonderful series like Concrete Park and X. Especially Concrete Park: weeks after I read it for the first time, it still resonates just as strong with me.

    • “The 36 old Teen Titans covers you uploaded on your blog are all gorgeous, and Teen Titans # 31 definitely is one of the brightest gems.”
      Picking a runner-up proved quite difficult for me. On one hand I liked #31 for the very reasons your provided. Then there is #34 with its “bewitching” cover. I also really liked the caption of “The Demon of Dog Island.” Finally there is #33 with Lilith blissfully unaware of the impending danger reaching out to grab her. In the end my results are: 2nd – #34, 3rd – #31, and 4th – #33. I have to admit that overall I’m really pleased with this initial batch of covers from the early days of Teen Titans and they were much better than I was expecting.

      “As for Spidey, I pick USM # 81”
      This cover is my runner-up, no question indeed. I love the looming visages of the Kingpin and Hammerhead. I also love the glow from Iron Fist’s hand and how it acts like a light source to bask the other characters. 3rd Place goes to the Annual which is not only a stellar cover but a stellar issue on the inside as well.

      “I voted for Dark Horse”
      I gave my vote to Marvel on the back of Superior Foes, Ms. Marvel, Hawkeye, Secret Avengers, and the such. Looks like they lost to Image (no surprise) and Valiant (big surprise) to finish 3rd. I think the biggest shocker was that Dark Horse finished 6th! Crazy!

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your commentary.

  2. Wow, Teen Titans #35 is a nice spooky cover, intruder of the forbidden crypt, sounds like a great story for Halloween! I agree with you for Ultimate Spiderman #71, with Spidery being overwhelmed by so many characters, a very dark and claustrophobic cover. Great edition of Retroactive 😀

Leave a Reply

