Retroactive: Teen Titans 1972/1973 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2006


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Teen Titans 1971 and Ultimate Spider-Man 2005. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1972/1973
teentitanslogo

___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2006
ultimatespidermanlogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1972/1973 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2006

  1. I really like USM # 85.
    First of all, I love the fact that the villains are not shown, and all we can see are their hands and the weapons they’re holding.
    Secondly, the lighting is exceptional. I love how the flames coming from Iron Fist enlighten the whole scene, as I love how light and shadows are combined on his body.
    Thirdly, I love the layers on this cover. First we have the villains, then we go back further and we see Shang Chi, then we go back even further and we see Iron Fist… and then we raise our eyes upon him, and we see Spidey! This cover is like a Chinese box or a Russian stacking doll, and I deeply appreciate it.
    Special mention for the Annual: Spidey + Daredevil + Punisher = a medal for sure in wwayne’s ranking.
    As for the Teen Titans, I completely agree with the cover you chose. Special mention for Teen Titans # 38, because I love the perspective leaning to the left.
    P.S.: In the latest Teen Titans/USM post you stated that USM Annual # 1 is a stellar issue. I own all the USM issues drawn by Mark Bagley, so I took that Annual from my shelves and read it again because of your good word.
    Well, I wholeheartedly thank you, because I had completely forgotten how great this issue is, and you brought it back to my mind. I especially loved the phone conversation between Peter and Kitty: both of them were so goofy, and so tender at the same time! It really warmed my heart. And then the scene where they’re looking at the sunset on a roof, the kiss scene… every single panel of that issue is pure awesomeness. Thank you again! : )

    • “I really like USM # 85.”
      I’m with you on this one. My runner-up cover for sure for the various reasons you listed. 3rd Place goes to USM #101. Another case of shadows and lighting used to great effect and the depiction of Carnage was creepy and terrifying at the same time.

      “Special mention for Teen Titans # 38, because I love the perspective leaning to the left.”
      And I would direct special mention to Paul Bowler’s #1 choice Teen Titans #42. The shot of our heroes, helpless on a speeding raft heading towards that gigantic horned skull rising from the water makes for an exciting visual.

      “I own all the USM issues drawn by Mark Bagley, so I took that Annual from my shelves and read it again because of your good word.”
      Funny enough, I did the same thing since I own all the hardcover collections of the series. It’s great when an edition of a Retroactive can result in bring back fond memories and even better when we are compelled to revisit them if we are fortunate enough to own the issue in question. I always enjoyed that series and thought Kitty and Peter made a terrific couple. I haven’t read the Miles Morales Ultimate Spider-Man yet but I have it on my to-read list once they make some double arc trades.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis.

  2. Great cover for Teen Titans #42 with them all on a raft at sea, being drawn towards the gaping maw of some demonic looking creature / skull, very exciting cover! Lots of great Spiderman Ultimate covers here, like you I had to go for issue #100 as well, what a brilliant covers. Just look at the detail and work that must’ve gone into this one. A great edition of retroactive 😀

Leave a Reply

