Retroactive: Nightwing 1999 & Daredevil 2012


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Nightwing 1998 and Daredevil 2011. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Nightwing 1999
nightwinglogo
___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2012
daredevillogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

14 thoughts on “Retroactive: Nightwing 1999 & Daredevil 2012

  1. Daredevil and the Punisher are my favorite Marvel characters: the cover you chose shows both of them, so it got very close to the 1st prize… but at the end I decided to pick Daredevil Vol. 3 # 10.1.
    First of all, this cover shows 3 things I always wish to find in a comic book: a gunfight, a kiss and a bare – handed fight.
    Secondly, I love the creative artistic choice of foreshadowing some events we’ll find in the issue by connecting them to the 5 senses.
    Thirdly, this cover raises a lot of questions. Who holds that smoking gun? Who was hit by the bullet that just came out of it? Who are the lovers that are kissing each other? Who’s punching that man and why?
    The other gold medal goes to Nightwing Vol. 2 # 32. Bullets flying all over, Nightwing desperately trying to save his life, broken bricks falling all around him, that plane getting closer to him by the minute… this image is a classic action packed cover and shows a lot of details that are hugely eye – pleasing for me, so I give it the 1st prize without the shadow of a doubt.

    • “Daredevil and the Punisher are my favorite Marvel characters: the cover you chose shows both of them, so it got very close to the 1st prize… but at the end I decided to pick Daredevil Vol. 3 # 10.1.”
      I thought there was an outside chance we may be on the same page but I also had a really good feeling that this very cover would take first place for you. The creative team’s take on the five senses are awesome ranging from the smell of a gun going off, the sound of a woman screaming, the taste of another woman’s lips, the touch of fist against face, and the sight…I mean radar sense. 🙂 All five images are perfect and really get me interested which ensures that it earns my silver medal. Other great covers are DD #7 (Paul Bowler’s pick and my third place) thanks to Daredevil’s unusual and playful nature. DD #16 earns 4th: Matt and Foggy obviously at a disagreement with the looming shadow of Daredevil representing the very thing that has torn them apart. Finally, DD #18 earns 5th thanks to the creative way Daredevil is shown.

      “The other gold medal goes to Nightwing Vol. 2 # 32.”
      This cover is a new take of another cover from a previous year of Nightwing. Nightwing being chased by a helicopter seems to be a go-to concept for sure. For me, my runner-up goes to Nightwing #36. Our hero is crazed and rabid, chained up, the cell being twisted and warped, with the final cherry on top being the bright red colour and the skull sitting in the corner.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your commentary!

      • “All five images are perfect and really get me interested which ensures that it earns my silver medal.” And my bronze one goes to Daredevil Vol. 3 # 8, for 3 reasons;
        – It has an atmosphere I absolutely adore;
        – I love the artistic choice of showing Spidey being 180 degrees rotated in regard to Daredevil;
        – I love the fact that the title has been partially covered by the fire escape, because this way it looks like a graffiti upon the wall of that condo.
        “For me, my runner-up goes to Nightwing #36.” And mine is Nightwing: Secret Files & Origins #1, because I love the creative artistic choice of laying out the page as if it were a tabloid cover.
        It was a quite hard task to choose the bronze medalist: Nightwing Vol. 2 #30 shows a big fat gunfight, and Nightwing Vol. 2 #38 is another great action packed cover. At the end I decided to pick Nightwing Vol. 2 #38: this time Dick can’t count on Superman, so the situation is way more difficult and enticing.
        Speaking of Bat – comics, last week I read Batwing # 25 – 27, and I was impressed by the extremely high quality of these 3 issues. Batwing # 25 – 27 and the Cinder and Ashe trade are by far the best DC comics I’ve read in 2014.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your commentary!” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • Daredevil Vol.3 #8 finished just out of my Top 5 at Ranking #6 with 7, 8, 9, 10 going to #10, #12, #15, and #19 respectively.

          “Speaking of Bat – comics, last week I read Batwing # 25 – 27, and I was impressed by the extremely high quality of these 3 issues.”
          What was it that impressed you? The story? The art? The combination of both? I’ve only ever read one issue of Batwing (the Futures End one) so I’m pretty unfamiliar overall with the title. What was the quick tease of the story taking place, if you don’t mind me asking?

          • “What was it that impressed you? The story? The art? The combination of both?” I don’t care about the art very much when I read a comic book, so the story is what impressed me the most.
            “What was the quick tease of the story taking place, if you don’t mind me asking?” There were 3 parallel storylines in those 3 issues:
            1) A former Batwing’s classmate has become a mad scientist: he developed a sort of Bane’s Venom formula, and he tested that venom upon himself. The test is successful, so this mad scientist becomes hugely muscular; shortly after, he starts selling his drug, and rapidly becomes a very important crime lord.
            2) The Scarecrow spread his fear gas among many Gotham citizens. Because of this crime, Gotham has fallen into chaos, so Lucius Fox and Batwing desperately try to find an anthidote before it’s too late.
            3) The mad scientist doesn’t want Lucius Fox to find an anthidote, because, the more Gotham is desperate, the more his business goes well, so the mad scientist kidnaps Lucius Fox’s daughter: if he doesn’t stop looking for a cure, she will die.
            As you can see, those 3 issues were very rich. The opposite of decompressed storytelling.

            • Wow! That actually sounds really good. Too bad the series didn’t get the recognition from the fans (myself included) as it got cancelled at Issue #34. Thanks for sharing your synopsis though. 🙂

              • ” Too bad the series didn’t get the recognition from the fans (myself included) as it got cancelled at Issue #34.” I think that the problem with Batwing is that the stories were extremely good, but the leading character didn’t have a defined personality that could make the readers be fond of him. Those 3 issues could have been told with Batman instead of Batwing, and nothing would have changed.
                The mad scientist, on the contrary, is an extremely interesting character. I strongly hope he won’t fall into oblivion now that Batwing has been closed.
                “Thanks for sharing your synopsis though.” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

                  • I agree with you that Darwyn Cooke is an excellent artist. I think that DC managers asked him to become the Batwing cover artist because they hoped that his fans would have bought the title for this reason alone. Unfortunately they were wrong.
                    I bought the title for a completely different reason: I saw some Batwing issues at my LCS, I leafed through them and I instantly understood that this series had something special.

                    • It is a rare few artists that hold such a distinction of their covers enabling a series to sell more copies. Others I can think of off the top of my head are Skottie Young, Alex Ross, and Amanda Conner.

  2. P.S.: I gave Daredevil Vol. 3 # 10.1 a second look, and I noticed 2 details that had passed me by:

    – “Daredevil” has been written in braille as well;
    – Since Matt is blind, “sight” has been replaced with “radar.”

    Both these details are awesome, so now I’m even more convinced that this cover deserves the gold medal.

  3. Nightwing vol 2 #37 is a very suspenseful cover, with Nightwing chained and trapped underwater. Love the use of color here, really heightens the danger of the underwater setting. Daredevil vol 3 #7 is, by contrast, the complete opposite. Its a lovely winter scene in hells kitchen, with DD on the rooftop in the snow. Beautiful cover! Great retroactive, to very different covers, and each so brilliant 😀

    • The way that Daredevil cover shows off his playful nature is quite a contrast to where the character had been in years prior. The black of the buildings teamed with the white snow makes a fantastic image that really pops off the page. Fantastic choice! Thanks for sharing your picks.

Leave a Reply

