Between The Continuity – Daredevil’s Replacement Revealed

Icon

So this week marks the final edition of Daredevil on Retroactive. He’s been a fixture on the feature since October 7th of last year which means we’ve had over 13 months of awesome covers from the title. Alas, all good things must come to an end and with that in mind I had to make a big decision: Who will be Daredevil’s successor?

I’ve been going back and forth on that subject non-stop ever since Nightwing joined him on Retroactive as the other half of the partnership. This edition of Retroactive is the Batman-centric/Marvel legacy edition so I needed a title that had over 300 issues to its name. In the end, this being Marvel’s 75th year, I decided to pay tribute to a series that essentially kicked off the Marvel age of comics, a series that is currently getting no love from the publisher. That’s right, I’m going to focus on “The World’s Greatest Comic Magazine”, the Fantastic Four! Look for that series to debut in two weeks time.

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
Retroactive: The Flash 2002 & Uncanny X-Men 2009
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (11/27/14-12/04/14)
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 12/10/14
Retroactive: Teen Titans 1972/1973 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2006
Retroactive: Nightwing 1999 & Daredevil 2012
Kickstart My Heart: Under The Flesh (Round 2)
________________________________________________________video-clip

Hot Clips
_______________________________

Justice League: Throne of Atlantis – Official Trailer 

_______________________________

Batman: Arkham Knight – Ace Chemicals Infiltration Trailer: Part 3

________________________________________________________twitter-logo

Top Tweets
_______________________________

[tweet https://twitter.com/VaGentlenerd/status/541290608414179329 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/abrahamjoseph/status/540889540006014976 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/Ssnyder1835/status/541384864290062337 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/DanSlott/status/541049123399806976 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/Nav_Kay/status/540978323006824448 hide_thread=’true’]

________________________________________________________

looking-aheadLook for my very special feature entitled Lost Voice: How The Canary Lost Her Cry” coming in the next day or two.
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

4 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Daredevil’s Replacement Revealed

  1. This Summer you announced that Daredevil’s replacement would have been an over 300 issues long series. After reading that, I predicted you would have chosen Fantastic Four, Captain America, Hulk, Iron Man or Thor.
    At the end you picked the Fantastic Four. I hope your readers will appreciate your choice, and the Nightwing/Fantastic Four posts will become as successful as the Flash/X – Men ones.
    When a series ends its run in the Retroactive section, I usually tell you which cover I liked most (I have already wrote down a list of my favorite Flash and X – Men covers, for example). Well, I can’t do this for Daredevil, because I love the character so much that I deeply appreciated every single cover of his solo series.
    By the way, the actor who plays the Hulk in Marvel movies, Mark Ruffalo, is extremely talented. He already got an Oscar nomination some years ago, and I strongly hope he manages to win it sooner or later.
    P.S.: At present, my favorite Flash/X – Men covers are:

    Bronze medal: Flash Vol. 1 # 230
    Silver medal: Flash Vol. 2 # 29
    Gold medal: Flash Vol. 2 # 2

    Special mention for Flash Vol. 1 # 183 (4th) and Flash Vol. 2 # 89 (5th).

    Bronze medal: UXM # 493
    Silver medal: UXM Annual 2000
    Gold medal: UXM # 236

    Special mention for UXM # 358.

    • “I hope your readers will appreciate your choice, and the Nightwing/Fantastic Four posts will become as successful as the Flash/X – Men ones.”
      It will definitely be hard-pressed to do so. Flash/UXM are so far ahead of everyone else. 2nd Place goes to Nightwing/Daredevil, 3rd Place is Teen Titans/Ultimate Spider-Man, and bringing up the rear is TMNT/Hellboy. But with the upcoming FF movie, who knows?

      “Well, I can’t do this for Daredevil, because I love the character so much that I deeply appreciated every single cover of his solo series.”
      Neither can I. I’m probably going to do a by the decade post on it similar to what I did for Detective Comics. That is as close as I can do.

      “At present, my favorite Flash/X – Men covers are”
      Thanks for sharing your list so far. It will be interesting to see how much (if any) changes after both have completed their runs. With Flash Vol. 2 #2 and Flash Vol. 2 #89 I see your common thread of glass shattering. 🙂 As for UXM, I knew that gorgeous Finch drawn Cable cover would rank high, I just didn’t know where it would place.

  2. Really enjoyed the Daredevil retroactive feature, one of my favourite characters. I’ve always enjoyed the Fantastic Four as well, so it will be great to revisit these classic covers again 😀

Leave a Reply

