Retroactive: Nightwing 2000 & Daredevil 2013


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Nightwing 1999 and Daredevil 2012. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Nightwing 2000
nightwinglogo
___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2013
daredevillogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Nightwing 2000 & Daredevil 2013

  1. There were 6 Bat – covers that hugely pleased my eye:
    – Nightwing Vol. 2 #39: I love the fact that we’re seeing the scene through the eyes of the sniper. I also appreciate the scene itself: it’s a brawl, and I can’t ask nothing better on a comic book cover.
    – Nightwing Vol. 2 #42: it is set in a murky blind alley, and it also shows an antihero holding a bleeding weapon: these two details instantly won me over. I also love the masterful use of shadows.
    – Nightwing Vol. 2 #44: as you know, I love glass shattering and scenes depicted from an unusual angle.
    – Nightwing Vol. 2 #47, because of its remarkable aesthetic value.
    – Nightwing Vol. 2 #50: flames, broken bricks, Nightwing’s costume being in shreds… add the tagline “extra – sized issue”, and here you have a cover that makes me want to get my hands on the comic book right away.
    – Nightwing 80-Page Giant #1: a sexy lady being armed to the teeth? I’m definitely sold!

    My podium is:

    Bronze medal: Nightwing Vol. 2 #42
    Silver medal: Nightwing 80-Page Giant #1
    Gold medal: Nightwing Vol. 2 #50

    As for Matt, I completely agree with the cover you chose. I still remember when we talked about it for the first time.
    Special mention for Daredevil Vol. 3 #20: a cover showing all those guns and bullets will always get a medal in my personal ranking. Also, it is clear that a huge amount of work was needed to create this cover, and I deeply appreciate it.
    Bronze medal for Daredevil Vol. 3 #29: even in this case we have a very good use of shadows upon Matt’s costume, and I also like the contrast between the warm colour of his outfit and the cool colour of the sky.

    • “My podium is:
      Bronze medal: Nightwing Vol. 2 #42
      Silver medal: Nightwing 80-Page Giant #1
      Gold medal: Nightwing Vol. 2 #50”
      That really speaks to the great collection of covers this year that not three but six covers were in the mix for you. It also served as an added bonus in getting your thoughts across a whole wealth of images. For me, the rest of my podium would go to Nightwing #42 (2nd) and Nightwing #39 (3rd). I absolutely love that depiction of Nite-Wing and how the character has taken over the series by spray-painting Nite over the Night part of Nightwing. Fantastic!

      “Special mention for Daredevil Vol. 3 #20”
      Not only do we agree on the first place cover but the Silver Medalist as well. I love that image of him hanging on for dear life as he is swarmed by artillery and headless bodies. Creepy and awesome at the same time. The rest of my Top 5 (I had to do 5 because there were so many incredible images) would go to: 3rd – DD #31 (love how the main title is incorporated, how Foggy is an armrest of Jester, and how Kirsten McDuffie is being forced in the role of executioner), 4th – DD #27 (Foggy and a hint of being in jeopardy thanks to Bullseye), and 5th – DD #24 (a quiet and amazing shot with Daredevil standing on top of the statue, the various crooks lying unconscious within the piece of art).

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your analysis.

  2. Nightwing Vol 2 #47 is a great looking cover, with all the aspects and people in Nightwing’s life converging as he swings though the cit. I love a good team-up cover, and Daredevil vol 3 #22 featuring DD & Spidey is great! A really fun and action packed edition of retroactive!

    • “I love a good team-up cover, and Daredevil vol 3 #22 featuring DD & Spidey is great!”
      And an appearance by everyone’s favourite lovable loser: Stilt-Man! All the Daredevil covers were so brilliant that anyone could have captured first place. That truly speaks volumes to how special this third volume of the series was.

      Thanks for providing your picks! It is much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

