Retroactive: The Flash 2003 & Uncanny X-Men 2010


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 2002 and Uncanny X-Men 2009. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 2003
flash-logo

___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 2010
uncanny_xmenlogo

________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

13 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 2003 & Uncanny X-Men 2010

  1. I really like Flash # 196.
    First of all, it shows a character I have a soft spot for.
    Secondly, the cover artist depicted her in a deeply shocking pose. We’re used to see Lashawn Baez as a smiling and light – hearted character: that’s why it is so eye – widening to see her while she’s about to break the Flash’s neck by pushing on it with her rollerblades. Also, notice that the Flash is inconscious: killing a man while he can’t defend himself is an even more heinous crime.
    Maybe she didn’t want to kill him, and she simply put her foot on his head as a sign of humiliation: even in this case the cover would be shocking anyway, because we’d never expect her to behave in such a nasty way.
    Thirdly, the tagline is very enticing. “The one foe Flash won’t stop!” It definitely raises a lot of questions: how will Lashawn Baez beat the Flash? What makes her undefeatable? And if Flash can’t stop her, who will?
    The icing on the cake is the gorgeous bright sky behind Lashawn Baez. The contrast between the peace conveyed by that sky and the uneasiness conveyed by the fight between her and the Flash is a huge plus of this cover.
    The other gold medal goes to UXM # 527. As you know, I love romantic issues, so this cover instantly won me over.
    In the foreground Emma Frost and Namor are about to kiss, and in the background you can see a close – up of two mouths getting very close to each other. You may think those lips belong to Emma and Namor: well, at first I thought so too, but then I noticed that Namor is very pale, and the skin of the man kissing Emma in the background isn’t pale at all. This makes me think that Emma is kissing Namor, but she’s thinking about another man while doing that, and the cover artist decided to make that clear by depicting a kiss between her and the man she really loves in the background.

    • “I really like Flash # 196.”
      I have to say your write-up was very inspiring and quite a joy to read. In fact, it influenced me so much that it changed my mind and enabled this cover to take the third place position. Job well done indeed! Taking residence in 2nd Place would be Flash #200. This double-page masterpiece has got it all: Wally and Linda in deep sorrow, the villainous Zoom, and the Spectre wrapping himself around the Flash with a mysterious bright white light emanating around them. This sadness and serious tone then gives way to the right-side of the cover with the Flash all smiles. What could it mean? I must find out!

      “The other gold medal goes to UXM # 527.”
      Yeah, I called this as soon as I saw the image. It makes my podium at 2nd with UXM #525’s action-packed image coming in third.

      “But then I noticed that Namor is very pale, and the skin of the man kissing Emma in the background isn’t pale at all. This makes me think that Emma is kissing Namor, but she’s thinking about another man while doing that, and the cover artist decided to make that clear by depicting a kiss between her and the man she really loves in the background.”
      Woah! My mind has just been blown. Great job wwayne. You are probably right as at the time she was together with Scott Summers.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your phenomenal analysis this week. 🙂

      • “I have to say your write-up was very inspiring and quite a joy to read. In fact, it influenced me so much that it changed my mind and enabled this cover to take the third place position.” Your words make me feel very proud.
        “Taking residence in 2nd Place would be Flash #200.” My runner – up is Flash # 202, because it has a post – apocalyptic atmosphere I absolutely adore.
        Bronze medal for Flash # 203, because I love the artistic choice of not showing the face of the villain.
        I considered Flash # 201 for the 3rd prize, because it has an extremely accurated background, a masterful use of shadows and a lovely dark atmosphere.
        “It makes my podium at 2nd with UXM #525’s action-packed image coming in third.” My runner – up is UXM # 520: sewer system + some guns + gnashing teeth + a sexy lady = a medal for sure in wwayne’s ranking.
        Bronze medal for UXM # 517, because once again we got a Russian stacking doll. First you see Emma, then you have Cyclops right behind her mantle; behind him you see Psylocke, behind her you see Namor, behind the Sub – Mariner you see Magneto. Simply awesome!
        “You are probably right as at the time she was together with Scott Summers.” I was completely unaware of this. They’re not a good match, in my opinion: Emma is a shady character, while Scott is a good man.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your phenomenal analysis this week.” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your replies! : )

        • “They’re not a good match, in my opinion: Emma is a shady character, while Scott is a good man.”
          And maybe her character rubbed off on Scott too much as he has since been portrayed more villainous/radical with his ideals. His actions these last few years have been very controversial among the mutant community as a whole as he has actually assumed a more Magneto-like role though not into full-blow villainy.

  2. Wow, The Flash Vol 2 #195 is a very trippy looking cover, with Flash plunging through a swirling vortex. I like how the Logo is being gradually twisted and drawn into the swirling centre of the cover. Great cover and very unusual. Some nice Xmen covers as well. I settled on Uncanny X-Men #519 as it featured Beast, walking alone as the sun sets in the distance, his bags packed, about to embark on his journey. I can’t remember much about this story tbh, but I don’t think Beast has had many covers just to himself, so that’s which I chose this one as it kinda stood out from the rest for that reason. Great edition of Retroactive, always so much fun 😀

    • “Wow, The Flash Vol 2 #195 is a very trippy looking cover, with Flash plunging through a swirling vortex. I like how the Logo is being gradually twisted and drawn into the swirling centre of the cover.”
      This cover was going to be my bronze medalist until I read wwayne’s write-up. I so love that the main title is being warped right along with everything else.

      “I can’t remember much about this story tbh, but I don’t think Beast has had many covers just to himself, so that’s which I chose this one as it kinda stood out from the rest for that reason.”
      I never really though about it but you are right. Beast rarely gets a solo chance to shine. This cover is a nice homage to UXM cover’s past such as the Cyclops, Kitty, and Jubilee covers when they are leaving the school.

      Thanks for providing your picks!

  3. Pretty much all of the Second Coming covers are good, but 524 (chapter 6) is probably the best out of the Uncanny issues. It really captures some of the more emotional moments in the event and how much pressure is on Hope Summers to save the mutant race. With #525 in comparison, there’s more detail and it showcases the intensity of the event’s climax, but it’s also a bit busy.

    A lot of those Flash covers are good too. Personally I’m partial to 193, mostly because he’s fighting a gorilla, but your pick is good too for comparable reasons to Uncanny X-Men 524.

    • Nice to see we are in agreement over UXM with this edition. As for Flash, #193 is a solid pick in a month stacked with great pieces of art. Anytime you have Grodd squaring off with the Flash it makes for a cool cover. It really makes me wonder how they will handle the character on the live-action TV show?

      Thanks for sharing your choices. It is much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

