Retroactive: Teen Titans 1976-1978 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2007


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Teen Titans 1972/1973 and Ultimate Spider-Man 2006. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teen Titans 1976-1978
teentitanslogo

___________________________________________________

Ultimate Spider-Man 2007
ultimatespidermanlogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: Teen Titans 1976-1978 & Ultimate Spider-Man 2007

  1. There are 2 Spider – covers that caught my attention:
    – USM # 105: not only it’s a romantic issue, but it also foreshadows a very enticing situation: a love triangle.
    – USM # 106: not only it features one of my favorite Marvel characters, but it also shows a masterful use of shadows upon his body.
    At the end I decided to give the 1st prize to USM # 105.
    The other gold medal goes to Teen Titans # 52, because it has a lot of eye – pleasing details: a brawl (which is turning out to be inconclusive for our heroes, because their foe can vanish), a gun, an explosion in the background, broken bricks flying all over… whenever I see one of these things on a cover, I instantly feel attracted to it: in this case all of them are united in only one image, so I give Teen Titans # 42 the gold medal without the shadow of a doubt.
    Special mention for Teen Titans # 48, because it foreshadows the presence of one of the greatest villains ever. It also perfectly catches the essence of Two Face, always being torn between good and evil.

    • “At the end I decided to give the 1st prize to USM # 105.”
      Romance always wins in the end. 🙂 For me, my silver medalist is USM #112. I love the shot of Spidey unaware, the Green Goblin leaping onto the scene, the beautiful glow of the moon adding a haunting quality. 3rd goes to USM #111. Spider-Man has come between May and Peter. It looks to be an issue filled with personal drama and great character moments so that gets me excited.

      “Special mention for Teen Titans # 48, because it foreshadows the presence of one of the greatest villains ever. It also perfectly catches the essence of Two Face, always being torn between good and evil.”
      This is hands down my runner-up as well. I love the conflicted nature of the villain which is a Two-Face staple. 3rd Place goes to Teen Titans #50. I’m a sucker for showdowns and seeing Titans West line-up against Titans East is a real pleasure.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

      • “3rd goes to USM #111.” And my 3rd prize goes to USM # 115: a giant gun in the foreground and the aftermath of an explosion in the background are more than enough to get a medal in my personal ranking.
        “It looks to be an issue filled with personal drama and great character moments so that gets me excited.” As you know, I’m a sucker for personal moments and slice – of – life scenes too, so this cover got very close to my podium.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your replies! : )

  2. Teen Titans #50 is a very exciting cover, with Teen Titans vs Teen Titans West. Great fun to see all these characters on one cover! Ultimate Spiderman #106 featuring Spidey & Daredevil is really good, very dark and moody, and DD looks very menacing. Always fun when these two characters team up! What a fun edition of Retroactive 😀

Leave a Reply

